#1  
Old 27th August 2008, 04:45
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Added new site, PHP not working

Hi, I added a new site, and migrated the data over. However, when I try to open the site in a browser, a download dialog opens up, asking to download a php file. Help please!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th August 2008, 08:30
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

did you enable php support in the new web?

if so, does the apache's access / errorlog for that web show any error?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th August 2008, 08:55
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben View Post
did you enable php support in the new web?

if so, does the apache's access / errorlog for that web show any error?
Yes, of course it's enabled. I added more sites and in fact none of them work.

My error log consists of this line

[Tue Aug 26 22:58:24 2008] [error] an unknown filter was not added: PHP

About every 10 seconds or so.

Last edited by spuppy; 27th August 2008 at 09:12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th August 2008, 10:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,239 Times in 4,107 Posts
Default

Quote:
[Tue Aug 26 22:58:24 2008] [error] an unknown filter was not added: PHP
Thats nothing to worry about.

Did you install and enable mod_php as described in the perfect setup guide.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th August 2008, 10:51
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Thats nothing to worry about.

Did you install and enable mod_php as described in the perfect setup guide.
I followed the directions for CentOS 5.2 exactly. There was no mention at all of anything called mod_php.

However, I installed Apache2 with PHP, and disabled PHP globally as it described. I also installed mod_ruby as the manual describes.. Is this what you are referring to?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th August 2008, 10:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,239 Times in 4,107 Posts
Default

Ok, then mod_php is installed. What happens exactly whe you access a php page?

PLease put the follwing page in one of your websites and name it e.g. info,php:

<?
phpinfo();
?>

then call it in a browser. Which output do you get?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th August 2008, 15:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Can you try post #2 on http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...pache2_php%22] ?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th August 2008, 16:01
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
I had it set to 'addtype' before, and I thought that was the solution. Turns out I was wrong, which is why I deleted the reply I posted (the one that you replied to earlier). Currently the only way I can get it working is to manually add SetHandler php5-script in between the <Files *.php> tags.

If you can figure out why, then great. It will benefit everyone else with similar problems running CentOS 5.2. If you want, I can try some other things with my server to help you figure out what is going on. Just let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th August 2008, 13:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

What happens when you remove the whole <Files *.php>... stuf from your vhosts and restart Apache? Does PHP work then?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd September 2008, 13:52
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
What happens when you remove the whole <Files *.php>... stuf from your vhosts and restart Apache? Does PHP work then?
No.

And I just added a new site, and it worked without requiring the modified line. But two of my sites that didn't work got reverted (the line got deleted), so it stopped working again. The other 3 or 4 sites work fine without the line added.

Last edited by spuppy; 2nd September 2008 at 13:57.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache stopped mccharlet General 6 15th August 2007 15:27
ubuntu ispconfig joomla .htaccess steve1084 General 8 6th January 2007 15:55
PHP Sessions not working on one site! badben General 5 24th August 2006 17:47
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 08:55
Downgrade php5 to php4.4.2 llizards Installation/Configuration 4 13th March 2006 23:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.