Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th August 2008, 03:09
anubix anubix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default uploading index.html doesn't update site!

I followed all the step correctly.
debian perfect install with ispconfig
set up a reseller with all privs
then a customer
then a site
then an admin user for the sitee

then i connect with ftp to the site.
upload a test index.html file to /web

when i load the webpage in a browser, i still see the same ispconfig smaple webpage!

i saw another post with the same issue, but the solution it gave (make sure the web usser is an admin of the site) didnt fix my problem.

does anyone know what this can be?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th August 2008, 05:10
daveb daveb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 272
Thanks: 43
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I am sure you probably tried this but did you clear your web browsers cache?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th August 2008, 20:17
anubix anubix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default yes i did

yes i refreshed.

i am installed ispconfig on a linode,
does that make a difference?
linode vps runnning xen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th August 2008, 20:21
anubix anubix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default i think maybe my dns info is wrong

this is the page i keep seeing, maybe my dns info is wrong?

Shared IP
This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.
For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.
powered by ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th August 2008, 20:24
daveb daveb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St Louis Mo
Posts: 272
Thanks: 43
Thanked 41 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Is your server behind a router? whats the output of ifconfig.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th August 2008, 22:49
anubix anubix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ifconfig -a output

ifconfig -a
dummy0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 4A:9A:F1:5C:F4:BD
BROADCAST NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr FE:FD:CF:C0:4B:87
inet addr:207.192.75.135 Bcast:207.192.75.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::fcfd:cfff:fec0:4b87/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:153976 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:76004 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:167248452 (159.5 MiB) TX bytes:8453327 (8.0 MiB)

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr FE:FE:C0:A8:85:53
inet addr:192.168.133.83 Bcast:192.168.255.255 Mask:255.255.128.0
inet6 addr: fe80::fcfe:c0ff:fea8:8553/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:12923 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1486582 (1.4 MiB) TX bytes:510 (510.0 b)

gre0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-30-30-30-3A-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
NOARP MTU:1476 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

ip6tnl0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
NOARP MTU:1460 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:360 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:360 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:30510 (29.7 KiB) TX bytes:30510 (29.7 KiB)

sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

teql0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

tunl0 Link encap:IPIP Tunnel HWaddr
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd February 2009, 22:28
laluvirtual laluvirtual is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anubix View Post
I followed all the step correctly.
debian perfect install with ispconfig
set up a reseller with all privs
then a customer
then a site
then an admin user for the sitee

then i connect with ftp to the site.
upload a test index.html file to /web

when i load the webpage in a browser, i still see the same ispconfig smaple webpage!

i saw another post with the same issue, but the solution it gave (make sure the web usser is an admin of the site) didnt fix my problem.

does anyone know what this can be?
I have exactly same problem. after i check it to /var/www/www.user.com/web/ index file is not changed.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th February 2009, 17:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Did you upload the file as the web site's admin user, or as a normal FTP user?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th February 2009, 17:49
findafriend findafriend is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default how to get in contact

Hi Falko

I know you are very busym but i have tried to get in contact with you both on email and PM in here and so far no response...

Would you please be kind to respond to my email and If I need paying anything let me know and I'll transfer the money using paypal.

I hope Till is doing better ?

Best Regards

Mogens
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bug: DNS doesn't update when site IP address is changed bbrendon Developers' Forum 1 2nd May 2008 16:10
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
default index.html copy after an user update the_spy General 5 20th May 2007 11:52
HotSaNIC domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 23 6th November 2006 05:19
New Site Shows Apache Default page not uploaded index.html mojosound Installation/Configuration 35 18th April 2006 10:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.