Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th August 2008, 10:05
-crisstm- -crisstm- is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default set up two dns with public IP master and slave

Hi all,

i want to set up two server from diffrent location one master and one slave .
i need to obtain redundancy and when the first server goes down must to work the second and when the secondary server goes down work to primary, and when work both obtain redundancy.
here i explain what i do:
to my registrat i tell
ns1.xdigital.ro 89.122.18.58
ns2.xdigital.ro 86.34.232.110
that's my public ip where is located my servers

on my ispconfig to first server i set up:

*Management->Server->Settings
Hostaname ns1
Domain xdigital.ro
Ip 89.122.18.58
IP List 89.122.18.58
86.34.232.110
DNS tab on
default Ns1 89.122.18.58
default ns2 86.34.232.110

*ISP Manager->ISP Site->Hostname www
Domain xdigital.ro
IP 89.122.18.58

*DNS Manager->xdigital.ro as a primary domain
Domain SOA xdigital.ro
IP 89.122.18.58
In Option tab i set up
Nameserver 1: ns1.xdigital.ro
Nameserver 2: ns2.xdigital.ro
On the Records tab i set up the A record
Hostname www
IP 89.122.18.58
Hostname mail same IP
Hostname ns1 same IP
at MX i set up
host mail.xdigital.ro 10 priority

on my ispconfig to second server i set up:

*Management->Server->Settings
Hostaname ns1
Domain xdigital.ro
Ip 86.34.232.110
IP List 89.122.18.58
86.34.232.110
DNS tab on
default Ns1 89.122.18.58
default ns2 86.34.232.110

*ISP Manager->ISP Site->Hostname www
Domain xdigital.ro
IP 86.34.232.110

*DNS Manager->xdigital.ro as a slave domain
Domain SOA xdigital.ro
IP master DNS 89.122.18.58

This is all but doesn't work my domain xdigital.ro. On the same server i have other domain wich is working fine. where am i wrong?
thank's in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th August 2008, 11:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What you're doing is roundrobin DNS, i.e., you have two different IP addresses for your domain in DNS. This does not provide high-availability, because if one server goes down, and a user's PC gets the IP address of that server, he cannot reach your site.

If oyu want high-availability, you need a load balancer with a virtual IP address: http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...at-debian-etch
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th August 2008, 12:21
-crisstm- -crisstm- is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Hi Falko

Thank's for you reply, but I don't have debian, i work with centos 4.6, and i want to make with that 2 static IP, two servers DNS,WEB,FTP,Mail, and i need when master server goes down, work slave server and vice versa.
How can i made this with centos and ISPConfig?
Thank's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th August 2008, 12:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

As I said before, you need a load-balancer with a virtual IP. This might work for CentOS: http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...rtbeat-fedora8
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th August 2008, 22:09
-crisstm- -crisstm- is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 78
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ok thank's

ok thank's for that tutorial but is working with ISPConfig?
Because i have ISPConfig installed on both server
And for Mail and ftp it's working ?
And what happened when one client modify mysql databases meenwhile one server is down? the secondary server will send all modification to the primary when is up?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th August 2008, 14:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

You must make your services (http, smtp, etc.) listen on the virtual IP address.

Regarding MySQL, you can set up master-master replication: http://www.howtoforge.com/mysql5_mas...on_debian_etch
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS: installing Master and slave dns server on debian Etch SHELLHOSTER Installation/Configuration 1 28th October 2007 15:08
Slave dns problem blackmask Installation/Configuration 1 3rd October 2007 13:51
Setting up a DNS server to slave from ISPConfig jerutley Installation/Configuration 4 6th November 2006 19:22
SuSE as master DNS server and Centos as slave DNS server... sthompson Server Operation 3 17th September 2006 13:24
Pri & Slave DNS HOWTO (FC4) ppettigrew Suggest HOWTO 0 1st April 2006 15:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.