Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th August 2008, 14:39
sebastienp sebastienp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default VMWare replication and failover

OK, accuracy :

I have no problem with vm1 when started on srv1 : it gets its IP (192.168.1.20 staticaly configured), I can access it.
But when I disconnect srv1, even if the instance goes online on srv2, vm1 over srv2 doesn't get any IP, as far as eth0 doesn't exists anymore on srv2.

Is this normal ?
Do someone have a clue ?

Thank you in advance,
S.

=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=

Hi there,

Once again many thanks for the time you spent achieving these howtos. It helps a lot !!!

Sorry to burden, but I have questions regarding the "Virtual Machine Replication & Failover with VMWare Server & Debian Etch (4.0)" howto.

It looks like I missed something...

OK, I have 2 physical nodes:
srv1:
eth0 : 192.168.1.11/24 - eth1 : 172.16.0.1/20 (heartbeat)
srv2:
eth0 : 192.168.1.12/24 - eth1 : 172.16.0.2/20 (heartbeat)

DRBD and Heartbeat are working well.
#
#srv1:~# cat /proc/drbd
#version: 0.7.21 (api:79/proto:74)
#SVN Revision: 2326 build by root@srv1.site.local, 2008-07-22 22:14:19
# 0: cs:Connected st:Primary/Secondary ld:Consistent
# ns:2236 nr:0 dw:100 dr:2237 al:0 bm:27 lo:0 pe:0 ua:0 ap:0
#srv1:~#
#srv1:~# /etc/init.d/heartbeat status
#heartbeat OK [pid 2645 et al] is running on srv1.site.local #[srv1.site.local]...
#srv1:~#

Here are the config files:

*drbd.conf :
resource vm1 {
protocol C;
incon-degr-cmd "echo '!DRBD! pri on incon-degr' | wall ; sleep 60 ; halt -f";
startup {
wfc-timeout 10;
degr-wfc-timeout 30;
}
disk {
on-io-error detach;
}
net {
max-buffers 20000;
unplug-watermark 12000;
max-epoch-size 20000;
}
syncer {
rate 500M;
group 1;
al-extents 257;
}
on srv1.site.local {
device /dev/drbd0;
disk /dev/cciss/c0d0p7;
address 172.16.0.1:7789;
meta-disk internal;
}
on srv2.site.local {
device /dev/drbd0;
disk /dev/cciss/c0d0p7;
address 172.16.0.2:7789;
meta-disk internal;
}
}

*ha.cf :
logfile /var/log/ha-log
gfile /var/log/ha-log
logfacility local0
keepalive 1
deadtime 10
warntime 10
udpport 694
bcast eth1

logfacility local0
keepalive 1
deadtime 10
warntime 10
udpport 694
bcast eth1
auto_failback on
node srv1.site.local
node srv2.site.local
ping 192.168.1.1
respawn hacluster /usr/lib/heartbeat/ipfail

*authkeys :
auth 1
1 md5 secret

*haresources :
srv1.site.local 192.168.1.10 drbddisk::vm1 Filesystem::/dev/drbd0::/var/vm::ext3 vmstart

vmstart points to the correct files in /var/vm.

VMWare server v.1.0.5 is installed and working on both servers, and the VMWare instance vm1.site.local is created on srv1.
Hosts are declared in /etc/hosts.

What I understood was when booting vm1, it will get the IP address (192.168.1.10 for instance) configured in haresources.

But when I boot vm1, it gets an IP via DHCP.
I can access its services via this IP, but I don't have failover.
When disconnecting srv1, the instance goes online on srv2, but eth0 doesn't exists anymore ! It is declared in /etc/network/interfaces as dhcp but it's not up.
Trying ifup eth0, I have :
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device (twice)
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up eth0

If I set another IP staticaly on vm1 (let's say 1.20), I don't have failover since I loose 1.20 as soon as I disconnect srv1... even if the VM switches to srv2, with 1.10 IP !
Once again, eth0 disappears.

If I set the haresources's IP statically on vm1 (iface eth0 inet static address 192.168.1.10 ...),
then I access srv1 (or srv2, depending which server holds the eth0:0...) instead of vm1.

Could you please be so kind to explain with more details what sould theorically happend ?
What if I want to configure several virtual machines ?
Did I miss something ? Did I misunderstood ?

Many thanks for your support,
S.

Last edited by sebastienp; 6th August 2008 at 11:43.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th August 2008, 23:28
thanis thanis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere over the rainbox
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Hi, please keep in mind that the entire configuration of heartbeat and drbd does NOT have anything to do with the virtual machines. The haresources IP address is the heartbeat IP address if configured correctly. NIC configuration for your virtual machines is done on the virtual machines, basically, whenever you talk about your vm's, it is all VMWare related and no longer tied to the HA part of the tutorial.

So , what kind of OS are you running in your VM and are the VMWare tools installed ?

Grtz,
Thanis
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thanis For This Useful Post:
sebastienp (9th August 2008)
  #3  
Old 9th August 2008, 03:22
sebastienp sebastienp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default to be continued

Hi Thanis, first of all many thanks for your answer, maybe you're on vacations... Nice from you to take the time.

OK, I worked a lot since last post, and ' got it, for sure, heartbeat and drbd are "by themselves". Commited.

I now use vmware server 1.0.6 instead of 1.0.5, just in case...
But same shit...
Downgrading to 1.0.2, why not, it's my last chance !?

Nevertheless, the mes is with ethernet card (these are HP servers, according to HP full compatible with debian etch. I don't know for vmware).

No problem with the primary server (srv1). My vms bind AMD pcnet card as eth0 with its IP staticaly configured.

But when moving to srv2, I always have the same error:
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device (twice)
Bind socket to interface: No such device
Failed to bring up eth0
...at boot sequence, and no eth0 available.

ifconfig -a shows that eth0 doesn't exists, but eth1 is there ! (It's not there on srv1...).

I read several things about /etc/udev/rules.d/z25_persistent-net.rules.
I tried to remove/tune it, successless.

I want to use several (2-4) Linux vms and only 1 Windows 2003 server vm (specific purpose/service). How many did you try in your lab ? Which OS ?

FYI, the problem is there with only Linux vms, and also with only the Windows vm. Gods love us ;-)

Once again, no problem on srv1.
But as soon as I disconnect it, srv2 holds back vmware instance, OK, but it's just like eth0 vanished !

That was my first try, I used a bridged network configuration (what kind of vmware network configuration did you use for your test lab ?).

Now, I'm trying with a NAT config, I have a couple of possibilities.
- tuning nat.conf for vmnet8 on both servers, so that they share the same "NATed network". What about MAC addresses ? They are the same for vmnet8. To be tested;
- using a tunnel broker solution, but I'm not familiar to IPv6. To be tested;

I'm still working on it...

I can say I never saw something explicit in the log files, except the NIC failure... It's the main problem !

Sorry to ask, but could you please send a basic sketch of your topology when you did it ?
I find your howto very interesting and knwoledgefull, but if you permit, not so detailled considering the topic, even for linux/vmware users.

That's easy to say for me cause I never posted an howto, but I promise, if I succeed in doing this one, I sware I'll post something !

I'll keep you updated, once again many thanks for your time.

Regards,
S.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th August 2008, 20:43
thanis thanis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere over the rainbox
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Hi Sebastien,

Could it be that your second server is connected differently ? I have tried to recreate your issue, and get the same problem if for example that in Server1, nic0 is connected/installed ==> eth0, but in Server2, nic1 is connected/installed, and then VMWare will have a different physical nic ID to bridge. In this case, the virtual nic's are also different and that is why your vmware nic is eth0 on Server1, but eth1 on server2. Since you also have the same issue with Windows, you can be pretty sure it is related to VMWare, so it kind of falls outside of the scope.

Other news: I will create a newer/bigger howto soon using the latest VMWare with the latest DRBD. I will also try to get the active/active mode of drbd up & running.

Grtz,
Thanis
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thanis For This Useful Post:
sebastienp (12th August 2008)
  #5  
Old 12th August 2008, 17:11
sebastienp sebastienp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default VMWare replication and failover

Hi Thanis,

Thanks for your quick answer.

Both servers (same model) are identically configured :
- eth0 : LAN 192.168.1.11/24 for srv1, 192.168.1.12/24 for srv2;
- eth1 : DRBD/Heartbeat 172.16.0.1/20 for srv1, 172.16.0.2/20 for srv2;

When you did the lab to reproduce my problem, did you succeed in achieving the howto without issues ?

Great news is the new improved how-to version !!!

Once again thanks for your time,
Kind regards from Paris/France,

S.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th August 2008, 20:47
thanis thanis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: somewhere over the rainbox
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Hi sebastien, of course I had no problems with the howto, I wrote it myself But I really stress that your problem is VMWare config related, I have no clue as to why you are having this issue without seeing your actual environment. I think that the vmware config on the second server is bridged to the wrong NIC, but like I say, I cannot be sure at all.

Perhaps we should wait for the other thread of Bart Van Kleef, to see if he has the same issue as you do.

Grtz,
Thanis
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thanis For This Useful Post:
sebastienp (12th August 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Machine Replication & Failover VMWare HOWTO frederikbay HOWTO-Related Questions 2 28th May 2008 16:45
DRBD Vmware Replication pimadaum HOWTO-Related Questions 8 18th May 2008 20:23
Virtual Machine Replication & Failover with VMWare Server & Debian Etch - 2 questions Zingaro2002 HOWTO-Related Questions 3 13th May 2008 15:14
Real machine replication & failover Hans Suggest HOWTO 5 12th October 2007 16:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.