Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th February 2006, 07:48
renzda2nd renzda2nd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default configuration for PHP question...

hey guys,

we currently have a web and email server running on Fedora Core 3, with Qmail and Horde (Imp, Turba, Kronolith, etc) as our web based email client in the office. (note: the network admin left for greener pasture and i was left to learn linux on my own real quick... )

i need to do some installations, setup and configurations on the server so i decided to build a parallel server that is almost similar to the current one. This is where i will do all my tests so as not to screw up the good one.

i followed the Fedora Core 4 Perfect Setup by sir falko (minus the installation of DNS, Postfix and ISPConfig) and all is well. Now, for me to complete the installation of Qmail and Horde, i need to run the ./configure command. My (stupid??) question is, following the howto of falko, where can i find the PHP source directory where i could run the ./configure command to compile php? or is there another way of doing this?

by the way, i am quite a newbie to linux but this has not discouraged me to start learning NOW...

Any input to my query would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th February 2006, 09:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by renzda2nd
i followed the Fedora Core 4 Perfect Setup by sir falko (minus the installation of DNS, Postfix and ISPConfig) and all is well. Now, for me to complete the installation of Qmail and Horde, i need to run the ./configure command. My (stupid??) question is, following the howto of falko, where can i find the PHP source directory where i could run the ./configure command to compile php? or is there another way of doing this?
PHP is already installed. Why do you want to compile it again?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th February 2006, 09:17
renzda2nd renzda2nd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sir,

on the installation howto of Horde, it requires me to re-compile php. knowing that i did already install php as per your howto, i skipped the procedure in the Horde howto... Horde didn't work... when i access the test.php page for Horde on a pc on our network, it displays the code and not the page normally seen on the web. since the php re-compilation was the only process i skipped for Horde, I kind of assumed this was the source of my problem...

i hope i'm stating the problem correctly sir... if not, please let me know also.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2006, 09:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by renzda2nd
sir,

on the installation howto of Horde, it requires me to re-compile php. knowing that i did already install php as per your howto, i skipped the procedure in the Horde howto... Horde didn't work... when i access the test.php page for Horde on a pc on our network, it displays the code and not the page normally seen on the web. since the php re-compilation was the only process i skipped for Horde, I kind of assumed this was the source of my problem...

i hope i'm stating the problem correctly sir... if not, please let me know also.
The problem is not the installation of PHP. In the howto, the PHP parsing is disabled because ISPConfig needs that to enable it on a per website basis. As you skipped the ISPCOnfig installation, PHP files where not parsed anymore.
Compileing PHP wont help you with that problem, you just have to activate PHP parsing again in your httpd.conf.

Please remove the comments that you added in front of the addhandler directives as described in the howto here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_se...dora_core_4_p4
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th February 2006, 09:52
renzda2nd renzda2nd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i see, yah i remember that part of the installation. i will try it now and see what happens...

Thanks so much! really appreciate the inputs sir...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th February 2006, 09:57
renzda2nd renzda2nd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i do have some more questions though,

part of the requirements of Horde are some options to be compiled with PHP...
(e.g. --with-apxs, --with-gettext, --with-dom... etc)

how could i know if the options are already included in the PHP installation? if its not yet included, how do i include it?

again, i beg for your indulgence...

thanks for the inputs sir! they are greatly appreciated...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th February 2006, 13:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Just install horde, you will get PHP error messages if modules are missing. Then you can chek if there is for example an php4-gettext package for fedora 3 and install it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading configuration file lance Kernel Questions 2 28th February 2007 20:40
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 14:01
question regarding configuration of logcheck Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 0 13th November 2005 12:05
ISPConfig pop3 problem mphayesuk General 21 31st October 2005 10:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.