#1  
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:26
bolero bolero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default missing webalizer stats

I think I have hosed the creation of webalizer stats on my new setups somehow. I have a test setup where stats are getting created in a stats subdirectory for the webids and in a usage directory for the main hostname. e.g. it seems to work. Because webalizer stats where in English (I need them in German) I followed the directions elsewhere in this forum and compiled a new webalizer. As version 2.20 had just come out I used that. It seems to work. At least I get an answer that makes sense when I just run "webalizer".
However, it's not getting used by ISPConfig although a "which webalizer" tells me the system wants to use 2.20 in /usr/local/bin and not 2.10 in /usr/bin. According to the forum post a newly compiled one should just work "if it is in the path". webalizer.php uses "which webalizer" itself. But if the path for the command is different it would not find it. From where does ISPConfig get the path? A cron script? There is no cron script for it in cron.daily, although it runs at 4:00 a.m. which looks very much like cron.daily. There's only 00webalizer which can't be it.
I cloned that setup and uninstalled the webalizer rpm, so that only that new webalizer binary is there. On that setup I don't get any stats at all, not even the stats directories got created. I assume there's either the cron/schedule file missing or it doesn't find the binary.
How can I troubleshoot this?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bolero For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (19th December 2013)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,249 Times in 4,114 Posts
Default

You compiled your webalizer with the wrong path. You should have used the same path then the webalizer that was already installed on your system.

To correct this without recompiling you should rename the webalizer binray from your system, so the which cammand finds your newly compiled version.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:43
bolero bolero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Thanks for the very quick answer. I just compiled it with default target path, that's apparently /usr/local. Anyway, that can't be it. As I explained, I cloned the VM and removed the webalizer rpm. There is no /usr/bin/webalizer anymore, only /usr/local/bin/webalizer.
As I wrote, either the scheduled creation got accidently hosed, so that webalizer.php (which seems to be responsible for stats creation) doesn't run at all or the which run from it can't find the webalizer in the /usr/local/path. At least I see only these two options. I will try an ln -s to overcome the which problem.
How can I check this? What actually triggers the nightly webalizer runs at 4 am? And can I mimick that now so that I can test creating stats at any time?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,249 Times in 4,114 Posts
Default

Ok, either you recompile webalizer so that it is located in /usr/bin/webalizer or you symlink it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd July 2008, 13:53
bolero bolero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yes, I already did the latter a few minutes ago. But is there no way to test it *now*? I just checked the individual crontabs and there is one that runs webalizer.php. So I now know how this is triggered. Can I just run it now or would this spoil something?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,732 Times in 2,569 Posts
Default

Yes, you can run that cron job manually. If it doesn't display any errors, everything should be fine.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th November 2008, 13:09
bplgonzo bplgonzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
You compiled your webalizer with the wrong path. You should have used the same path then the webalizer that was already installed on your system.

To correct this without recompiling you should rename the webalizer binray from your system, so the which cammand finds your newly compiled version.
I did this also. i compiled webalizer 2.2 with default path /usr/local/bin/webalizer
'which webalizer' now returns /usr/local/bin/webalizer

Whatever i try, path stays /usr/local/bin/webalizer

I tried apt-get remove webalizer but I guess it only remove 2.01 version
I tried to recompile webalizer with --prefix=/usr/bin but 'which webalizer' still returns /usr/local/bin/webalizer


here is what I get when I run Webalizer manually (domain names replaced with xxxxxxx.net):

www:~# /root/ispconfig/php/php -q /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.php
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web1/log/web.log (symlink)
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web19/log/web.log (symlink)
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web18/log/web.log (symlink)
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web21/log/web.log (symlink)
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web6/log/web.log (symlink)
Error: Can't open log file /var/www/web22/log/web.log (symlink)


Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web1/log
Max Log size: 15728640000
Current Log size: 12999005596
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web18/log
Max Log size: 31457280000
Current Log size: 79087581
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web19/log
Max Log size: 3145728000
Current Log size: 89201961
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web7/log
Max Log size: 31457280000
Current Log size: 3272915
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web6/log
Max Log size: 62914560000
Current Log size: 8572937204
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web8/log
Max Log size: 31457280
Current Log size: 0
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web21/log
Max Log size: 15728640000
Current Log size: 152756092
Domain: xxxxxxx.net
Log Dir: /var/www/web22/log
Max Log size: 31457280000
Current Log size: 468181120

i don't know what to do and how to enable new webalizer 2.2 to work with ISPConfig

Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th November 2008, 13:22
bolero bolero is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 114
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

You should read whole threads before answering or trying out anything. The last posting I made clearly states the reason for your problem. You have to edit the source code of webalizer so that it allows following of symbolic links again. Not difficult, but you have to know what you do.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th November 2008, 16:28
bplgonzo bplgonzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolero View Post
You should read whole threads before answering or trying out anything. The last posting I made clearly states the reason for your problem. You have to edit the source code of webalizer so that it allows following of symbolic links again. Not difficult, but you have to know what you do.
Yes, i did read whole thread, but you did not leave any answer for those who don't know how to do that, like me.
So i had to ask someone to tell me what to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webalizer stats question The General General 1 12th December 2007 17:24
again on webalizer stats gilas Installation/Configuration 6 6th October 2006 16:16
webalizer stats not accessible only for one user gilas Installation/Configuration 4 21st July 2006 13:08
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14
view webalizer stats kuyaedz General 22 12th March 2006 14:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.