Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th February 2006, 04:20
hosting hosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Centos 4.2 Install And Lots Of Questions .

Hello,
Ok i was finally after like 5 tries able to get this control panel installed , but when it asked for domain name i put some random domain , and now i have following problems and issues:

1. The images and all popups that are supposed to popup are all blank and keep trying to connect to that randomdomain.com all the time, resulting in making the control panel utterly useless, i have done this also :

nano /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php

and edited the domain in their to the server ip , but still nothing. (Got it working now i think , but how do i setup nameservers as i got only 1 ip.)

2. The control panel doesnt work in IE at all its all blank page no login page comes up , only works with FF.

3. VSFTPD is now offline and old users probably got deleted , so how to configure ftp again .

4. Gives Following Stats under services :
Web-Server: Offline
FTP-Server: Online
SMTP-Server: Online
POP3-Server: Offline
BIND-Server: Offline
mySQL-Server: Online

I dunno than how come the control panel is working when webserver is offline.

5. Also , i tried creating a user and domain and ftp account doesnt get created neither does anything else like www/their directory or something, i have yum install httpd.i386 installed , but this cpanel works on old apache and do i need to edit any httpd.conf file to make this thing work , say when i add account it creates their folder somewhere in home etc. the apache built into centos has location of www in /var/www and main site is /var/www/html/ . So how do i create or edit http.conf so that the new users are created and a new seprate folder with their name is made in that html or somewhere on server like with cpanel it makes /home/username, how to get it going? Plus the command /etc/init.d/httpd start or stop doesnt work so to get http online i have to use httpd - k start .

7.No FTP users get created . Plus vsftpd doesnt work now and i cannot connect to it using ftp client , although service vsftpd start shows vsftpd booted. But ftp client cannot access it.

So if anyone know how to get the things working properly do let me know.

Last edited by hosting; 8th February 2006 at 05:26.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th February 2006, 08:34
hosting hosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just removed it all , and now vsftpd works , but any clue as to what is wrong whenever i install it it goes offline ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2006, 10:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Wow, lots of questions... First you should have a look into /var/log/ispconfig_install.log and /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log and look out for errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
(Got it working now i think , but how do i setup nameservers as i got only 1 ip.)
You mean you want to run your own nameservers? I recommend that you get a second server and then do it like this: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...92&postcount=4

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
2. The control panel doesnt work in IE at all its all blank page no login page comes up , only works with FF.
That's strange... Which URL did you put in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
3. VSFTPD is now offline and old users probably got deleted , so how to configure ftp again .
Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
4. Gives Following Stats under services :
Web-Server: Offline
FTP-Server: Online
SMTP-Server: Online
POP3-Server: Offline
BIND-Server: Offline
mySQL-Server: Online

I dunno than how come the control panel is working when webserver is offline.
ISPConfig has its own Apache running on port 81 so that ISPConfig works even if the main Apache is down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
So how do i create or edit http.conf so that the new users are created and a new seprate folder with their name is made in that html or somewhere on server like with cpanel it makes /home/username, how to get it going? Plus the command /etc/init.d/httpd start or stop doesnt work so to get http online i have to use httpd - k start .
You don't have to edit httpd.conf at all, it's all done by ISPConfig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
7.No FTP users get created . Plus vsftpd doesnt work now and i cannot connect to it using ftp client , although service vsftpd start shows vsftpd booted. But ftp client cannot access it.
Please have a look at /etc/passwd to check if your users got created or not.
Do you have a firewall that prevents accesses to FTP? Please post the output of
Code:
iptables -L
Did you try both active and passive mode in your email client? What's the exact error message?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2006, 20:31
hosting hosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I put myip and do not put www in there , but when it asks for domain say xyz.be i just put my ip. Ok i try installation again also, also it crashes when i use R as the certificate when it asks for rsa key , so have to do D option. And ways i try it installing again now .

I have sent u iptables -L in ur Email

I just did reinstall and still same problems . Nothing changed. Even in IE its all blank.

Also tried to create a user with domain and everything and when i went into ftp login option it said:
Code:
Could not connect as user someuser
So trying with ftp client is usless cause i can login to other old users that were on vsftpd using the isp panel's ftp tool but not via ftp client like filezilaa.

Last edited by hosting; 8th February 2006 at 21:12.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th February 2006, 21:19
hosting hosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And here is the output for netstat -tap

Code:
[root@localhost vsftpd]# netstat -tap
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address               Foreign Address             State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 *:mysql                     *:*                         LISTEN      3882/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:sunrpc                    *:*                         LISTEN      2151/portmap
tcp        0      0 *:656                       *:*                         LISTEN      2170/rpc.statd
tcp        0      0 *:81                        *:*                         LISTEN      4743/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 someip:ftp          *:*                         LISTEN      4850/ispconfig_tcps
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:ftp   *:*                         LISTEN      4848/ispconfig_tcps
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:ipp   *:*                         LISTEN      3550/cupsd
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:smtp  *:*                         LISTEN      4795/sendmail: acce
tcp        0      0 someip:81          someip11951ffbea.ss.s:1498 ESTABLISHED 4752/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 someip:81           someip1ffbea.ss.s:1499 ESTABLISHED 4859/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 someip:81           someip.s:1497 TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 someip:81           someip1ffbea.ss.s:1495 TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:32821 localhost.localdomain:ftp   TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdomain:32827 localhost.localdomain:ftp   TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 *:ssh                       *:*                         LISTEN      3607/sshd
tcp        0   2372 ::ffff:someip:ssh   someip.ss.s:1473 ESTABLISHED 4394/0
[root@localhost vsftpd]#
Also note that this command doesnt turn vsftpd off ,all it does it turn it on and no off.

[root@localhost vsftpd]# service vsftpd start
Starting vsftpd for vsftpd: [ OK ]
[root@localhost vsftpd]# service vsftpd stop
Shutting down vsftpd: [FAILED]

Last edited by hosting; 8th February 2006 at 21:33.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th February 2006, 22:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
I put myip and do not put www in there , but when it asks for domain say xyz.be i just put my ip. Ok i try installation again also, also it crashes when i use R as the certificate when it asks for rsa key , so have to do D option. And ways i try it installing again now .
If you want to use your IP address, you must leave the hostname empty and enter your IP address as domain during the ISPConfig installation!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
Also tried to create a user with domain and everything and when i went into ftp login option it said:
Code:
Could not connect as user someuser
So trying with ftp client is usless cause i can login to other old users that were on vsftpd using the isp panel's ftp tool but not via ftp client like filezilaa.
Are you sure you used the correct username (e.g. web1_someuser) and enabled FTP for that web site in ISPConfig?

Quote:
Also note that this command doesnt turn vsftpd off ,all it does it turn it on and no off.

[root@localhost vsftpd]# service vsftpd start
Starting vsftpd for vsftpd: [ OK ]
[root@localhost vsftpd]# service vsftpd stop
Shutting down vsftpd: [FAILED]
vsftpd is run by the ispconfig_tcpserver, therefore you must run
Code:
/etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver start
to start vsftpd.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th February 2006, 05:15
hosting hosting is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If you want to use your IP address, you must leave the hostname empty and enter your IP address as domain during the ISPConfig installation!


Are you sure you used the correct username (e.g. web1_someuser) and enabled FTP for that web site in ISPConfig?


vsftpd is run by the ispconfig_tcpserver, therefore you must run
Code:
/etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver start
to start vsftpd.
Is this normal :
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver stop
Stopping ispconfig_tcpserver
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver start
Starting ispconfig_tcpserver
[root@localhost ~]# Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno or h_errno directly. Needs to be fixed.
Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno or h_errno directly. Needs to be fixed.
And where do i enable FTP for that web site in ISPConfig ? I give him hosting plan with ftp checked (if that is what u meant ?)

And strange my IE doesnt even open the demo site given on ispconfig.org , so what needs to be enabled in IE ? java , active x ? what does it need ?
Anyways sorted IE problem had to add the site to trusted site, as i got win2k3 on me and IE is kinda too much secured.

Last edited by hosting; 9th February 2006 at 05:39.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th February 2006, 11:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
Is this normal :
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver stop
Stopping ispconfig_tcpserver
[root@localhost ~]# /etc/init.d/ispconfig_tcpserver start
Starting ispconfig_tcpserver
[root@localhost ~]# Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno or h_errno directly. Needs to be fixed.
Incorrectly built binary which accesses errno or h_errno directly. Needs to be fixed.
The tcpserver seems to be incompatible with your distribution...
I recommend to use ProFTPd instead of vsftpd because then you don't need the tcpserver...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hosting
And where do i enable FTP for that web site in ISPConfig ? I give him hosting plan with ftp checked (if that is what u meant ?)
Yes, that's right.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eGroupWare Install crudolphy General 28 5th June 2007 19:09
Mandriva 2006 Install questions bersi Installation/Configuration 26 1st November 2006 16:52
Install ISPConfig on CentOS Server, in brief gfts Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 4th April 2006 08:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.