Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th June 2008, 22:09
Djoko Djoko is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ubuntu - VmWare Image has no network

Hi guys,

i need your help! I downloaded the vmware image "The perfect Server - Ubuntu 8.04" and put it in my vmware-server (on windows).

Even though the network is set to "bridge", the Ubuntu is not able to connect to the net. It says, there is "no eth0".

I know, that the settings in the vmware-server are ok, because i did not encounter this problem with the opensuse image.

My /etc/network/interfaces looks like this:

Quote:
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.61
netmask 255.255.255.0
#network 192.168.0.0
#broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.10.1
These settings should work. An "ifconfig" shows me only the "lo"-device

Am I doing something wrong?

Regards,
Djoko
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th June 2008, 14:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Are you sure that 192.168.1.61 is the right IP if your gateway is 192.168.10.1? These are different subnets...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th June 2008, 18:51
mikeyr mikeyr is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I had to delete /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and then reboot to get my vm to see eth0.

That rules file has something in it (I assume the MAC address) in it that is different for every machine.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeyr For This Useful Post:
falko (18th June 2008)
  #4  
Old 18th June 2008, 18:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I guess you clicked in Create instead of Keep when you first started the VM: http://www.howtoforge.com/import_vmware_images
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect Setup Ubuntu 6.06 vmware image - Apache mysql problem jgrafals Server Operation 3 27th April 2007 14:32
Problem with VMWare Image for "The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.10 Server (Edgy Eft)" hatsix HOWTO-Related Questions 8 5th March 2007 21:05
VMWare Server Howto and Ubuntu Questions crudolphy HOWTO-Related Questions 11 25th July 2006 20:11
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.