#1  
Old 11th June 2008, 01:12
xtine xtine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default MX and DNS records

My platform
OpenSuse 10.2
Postfix 2.3.2_28
ISPConfig 2.2.23

DNS configs
Using "example" in lieu of my domain name, and 11.111.11.111 in lieu of my IP)
* I run my own DNS server as primary, and use 1and1's as secondary
* In ISPConfig, under ISP Manager: Co-Domains set up for example.com and www.example.com, with DNS MX unchecked
* In ISPConfig, under DNS Manager:
- A Names set up for www.example.com, example.com, mail.example.com, ns1.example.com
- MX set up for for mail.example.com priority 10, example.com priority 20
- SPF set up for for example.com
* I also checked that the above records are in my /var/lib/named/pri.example.com file

mail MX 10 example.com
MX 20 example.com

example.com. A 11.111.11.111
www A 11.111.11.111
ns1 A 11.111.11.111
mail A 11.111.11.111
example.com. A 11.111.11.111 --- somehow I have two of these, do I need to delete the A Name from ISPConfig? Does the creation of a Co-Domain in ISPConfig automatically create an A Name? Does this extra line matter?

example.com. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"

What's working
* DNS is working, I'm able to browse (via browser) to the domain name and co-domains set up in ISPConfig. I'm also able to ping the domain and various sub-domains.
* I'm able to hook up Outlook client to my mail server, have successfully send and received emails to/from Gmail/Yahoo Mail.

What's not quite working
1) When testing my server on pingability.com and mxtoolbox.com, the tools reports back that "No MX records for 'example.com', using its A record(s)". I don't understand why this is since ISPConfig shows that I have MX records set up, and file pri.example.com displays the MX records. What am I missing?

2) Mail sent to Yahoo Mail goes straight to Spam Folder. I read that one common issue is if the mail server has open relay. I checked my server using the diagnostic tool on mxtoolbox, and it says that the server is not open relay so that's not it. Someone else suggested using a signature, I did, but there's no impact either. Mail still gets sent to the spam folder. (But this doesn't happen on Gmail, the mail goes to my Inbox on Gmail just fine.) I wonder if problem #1 causes the problem #2?

Last edited by xtine; 17th June 2008 at 04:49.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th June 2008, 14:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtine View Post
1) When testing my server on pingability.com and mxtoolbox.com, the tools reports back that "No MX records for 'example.info', using its A record(s)". I don't understand why this is since ISPConfig shows that I have MX records set up, and file pri.example.com displays the MX records. What am I missing?
Please check if your name server is responsible for the domain. you can do that by running
Code:
dig ns example.com
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtine View Post
2) Mail sent to Yahoo Mail goes straight to Spam Folder. I read that one common issue is if the mail server has open relay. I checked my server using the diagnostic tool on mxtoolbox, and it says that the server is not open relay so that's not it. Someone else suggested using a signature, I did, but there's no impact either. Mail still gets sent to the spam folder. (But this doesn't happen on Gmail, the mail goes to my Inbox on Gmail just fine.) I wonder if problem #1 causes the problem #2?
Please check if your server is blacklisted: http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th June 2008, 20:53
xtine xtine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Please check if your name server is responsible for the domain. you can do that by running
Yes it is. This information was seen on the pingability.com test as well.

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns example.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 50379
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;example.com. IN NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
example.com. 86400 IN NS slv1.1and1.com.
example.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.example.com.

;; Query time: 457 msec
;; SERVER: 11.111.11.1#53(11.111.11.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Jun 11 10:44:21 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 74
Quote:
Please check if your server is blacklisted: http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
Checked, and it's not blacklisted from the servers that responded. 5 servers timed out.

Other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th June 2008, 15:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
dig mx example.com
?

Do you have an SPF record for example.com?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th June 2008, 22:34
xtine xtine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Output for dig mx example.com -

Quote:
; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> mx example.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 46429
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;example.com. IN MX

;; Query time: 590 msec
;; SERVER: 11.111.11.1#53(11.111.11.1)
;; WHEN: Thu Jun 12 12:10:36 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 28
I have example.com set up as a SPF record in ISPConfig. Here's the corresponding line on the pri.example.com file.
Quote:
example.com. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th June 2008, 04:31
xtine xtine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Another funny thing is that mail sent via an Outlook client takes a while to receive at Yahoo Mail. But from the same server, mail from root gets to Yahoo Mail immediately. Why's that?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.