#1  
Old 30th January 2006, 23:27
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xen acpi problem

I'm reading (and setup a test system) with the "The Perfect Xen Setup For Debian And Ubuntu" howto.

I have a AMD Athlon 1GHZ system for this with 384MB Ram.
I needed to enter acpi=force into menu.lst of the host system or else the
system wouldn't poweroff properly.

Now i installed Xen from source the way Falco explained and have again this poweroff problem, the system wont poweroff totally.
I tried acpi=force with Xen but no succes.

I can't find any error messages in /var/log the system just doesnt poweroff properly. Debian closes and the hd's stop spinning then the screen says OS stopped or something nothing else.

Does anybody know how and if this can be solved with Xen?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st February 2006, 15:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You said you compiled the Xen kernels from the sources. Did you enable the correct ACPI settings in the kernel configuration? Can you post the ACPI related lines of the kernel configuration file (in /boot)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2006, 18:30
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmm good point

Hmm no i did not think of that (shame).
Will do that this week and let you know if that worked out.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2006, 18:37
itobin itobin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th February 2006, 19:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you install all ACPI related packages of your distribution (e.g. acpid on Debian)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th February 2006, 20:39
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itobin
hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian

No, i'm sorry didn't have the time yet to look into it.
Have a lot of work right now. When i did figured it out i wil post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th February 2006, 15:58
itobin itobin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

it works fine when running under the default Debian kernel.

When i installed Xen i also selected ACPI to compile into the new kernel

thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56
Problem installing ISPConfig, then with MySQL... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 7 26th September 2005 17:37
Problem with webmail MyLinux General 10 17th September 2005 15:31
Installation problem: PHP problem? hgoor Installation/Configuration 7 21st August 2005 23:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.