Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th August 2005, 01:31
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Installation: in-putting your website

Hi, I am failing miserably with my 1st install of ISPconfig. When it gets to the part: Please enter the host name (e.g www) I put www.

When it gets to the part: Please enter the domain (e.g xyz.de), I want to know if this domain must physically exist. If so, should the previous entry about: ISPConfig web (e.g 192.168.0.1) be the external ip of that xyz.de ???

Please see below for some errors I am experiencing. Hope someone can shed some light.

########## INSTALLATION ##########

Preparing files. Please wait a moment...
All prerequisites are fulfilled.
Here we go...
Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):ispconfig^[[D^
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.20
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):netxonline.co.uk
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Many thanks.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th August 2005, 01:46
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosei
Hi, I am failing miserably with my 1st install of ISPconfig. When it gets to the part: Please enter the host name (e.g www) I put www.

When it gets to the part: Please enter the domain (e.g xyz.de), I want to know if this domain must physically exist. If so, should the previous entry about: ISPConfig web (e.g 192.168.0.1) be the external ip of that xyz.de ???

Please see below for some errors I am experiencing. Hope someone can shed some light.

########## INSTALLATION ##########

Preparing files. Please wait a moment...
All prerequisites are fulfilled.
Here we go...
Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):ispconfig^[[D^
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.20
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):netxonline.co.uk
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Many thanks.

It's okay... I just saw a suggestion by Falko in other thread: Ignore host name and use host ip for the domain entry. I guess this means the hostname (e.g www) is referring to the host name of the machine being installed to and not the web prefix 3w. I'm going to try this for the 7th time and hope I have ir right now.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th August 2005, 02:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

If your server is server1.example.com, then the hostname is server1, and the domain is example.com. But server1.example.com must point to the system where ISPConfig is going to be installed.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th August 2005, 03:25
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If your server is server1.example.com, then the hostname is server1, and the domain is example.com. But server1.example.com must point to the system where ISPConfig is going to be installed.

Just tried this and got the same result.


Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.5
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):netex01
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):192.168.1.5
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01

__________________________________________
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.130 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.045 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.035 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.033 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.038 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.033/0.056/0.130/0.037 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping www.192.168.1.5
ping: unknown host www.192.168.1.5
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.129 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.037/0.069/0.129/0.042 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping 192.168.1.5
PING 192.168.1.5 (192.168.1.5) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.124 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms

--- 192.168.1.5 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.046/0.085/0.124/0.039 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig #

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I use a firewall that uses port 81 for web configuration. Could this be the problem. i was hoping to get passed this stage before changing the port for ISPConfig to 8080.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2005, 05:21
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by bosei
Just tried this and got the same result.


Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user:root
Please enter your MySQL password:
OK
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database (e.g. db_ispconfig):db_ispconfig
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web (e.g. 192.168.0.1):192.168.1.5
OK
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):netex01
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):192.168.1.5
ERROR: The URL is not reachable! The installation routine stops here!
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01

__________________________________________
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.130 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.045 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.035 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.033 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.038 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.033/0.056/0.130/0.037 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping www.192.168.1.5
ping: unknown host www.192.168.1.5
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping netex01
PING netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.129 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
64 bytes from netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk (192.168.1.10): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms

--- netex01.netexconsultants.ltd.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 1999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.037/0.069/0.129/0.042 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig # ping 192.168.1.5
PING 192.168.1.5 (192.168.1.5) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.124 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.5: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms

--- 192.168.1.5 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 1000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.046/0.085/0.124/0.039 ms
netex01:/tmp/install_ispconfig #

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I use a firewall that uses port 81 for web configuration. Could this be the problem. i was hoping to get passed this stage before changing the port for ISPConfig to 8080.

Ok. A final install seemed to have fixed stuff without me doing anything different but now I have:

"Could not establish an encryted connection because certificate presented by 192.168.1.20 is invalid or corrupted. Error Code: -8182" Help..... How can I fix this without going through the whole install exercise again?

Cheers

bosei
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2005, 09:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You cannot use netex01 as host name and then enter an IP address as domain. This results in netex01.192.168.1.5 which makes no sense. You can either leave the host name empty and enter an IP address as domain or (preferred) enter a host name and a domain (no IP address!).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation Problem _InFeCtOr Installation/Configuration 5 8th August 2005 16:34
Creating website - nothing happens hagel Installation/Configuration 13 7th August 2005 19:12
Trouble with Installation. cjkeeme Installation/Configuration 3 3rd August 2005 19:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.