Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2008, 14:50
rbanks rbanks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Raid1 + LVM on fc6 (some assistance needed)

Hello,
I followed along with the HowTo, "How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System" by falko. I am adapting this HowTo that is based on fc8 to a fc6 server that I have. I have 2 disks sda (empty) and sdb (LVM). I am in unfamiliar water here with raid or lvm. I went ahead and tried it because I knew I had a previous kernel image that I could fall back on if I managed to fubar this setup. I am now using that boot image as predicted. There may be more to it but I think all that I need is to set up the LVM properly in the fstab/mtab and mkinitrd a proper image. What I have now is errors of "setuproot error mounting /proc" and "cannot opendir(/proc)" so obviously the root file system is not being pointed to correctly. I thought I would just stop at this point instead of messing about and learning all that would be required to sort it out myself and give this forum a chance to point out my obvious mistakes first. Here is the configurations that I have now:

[root@localhost ~]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/md0 107G 80G 22G 79% /
/dev/sdb1 99M 18M 76M 20% /boot
tmpfs 506M 0 506M 0% /dev/shm

[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13 104391 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda2 14 14593 117113850 fd Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/sdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 14 14593 117113850 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/md0: 106 MB, 106823680 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 26080 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

Disk /dev/md0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/md1: 119.9 GB, 119924457472 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 29278432 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

Disk /dev/md1 doesn't contain a valid partition table

[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/grub.conf
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd1,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
fallback=1
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora Core (2.6.22.14-72.fc6)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.14-72.fc6 ro root=/dev/md1 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.22.14-72.fc6.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.22.14-72.fc6)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.14-72.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.22.14-72.fc6.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.22.9-61.fc6)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.9-61.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.22.9-61.fc6.img

[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/mdadm.conf
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid1 num-devices=2 UUID=c6fd5698:b976df7f:b2c25c31:740a24c9
ARRAY /dev/md1 level=raid1 num-devices=2 UUID=5185e26d:7275e924:550164b9:3326281b

[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/fstab
/dev/md0 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot1 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/md1 swap swap defaults 0 0

[root@localhost ~]# cat /etc/mtab
/dev/md0 / ext3 rw 0 0
proc /proc proc rw 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs rw 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,gid=5,mode=620 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /boot ext3 rw 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw 0 0
sunrpc /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs rpc_pipefs rw 0 0
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd March 2008, 14:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I think the problem is LVM. I haven't tried yet to convert a running LVM system to RAID1 yet, but I might soon...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd March 2008, 15:16
rbanks rbanks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Raid1 + LVM on fc6 (some assistance needed)

Well, how about now? Any suggestions on which way to go with this would not only be appreciated but would also help me to get my server back to where it should be. I have recorded each step along the way and backed up everythin so far. Correct me if I am wrong but as I stated in my original post, I think it is just a matter of pointed the initrd at the correct mount point or do you think there is more to it than that? Thanks though for the response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd March 2008, 18:56
rbanks rbanks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Raid1 + LVM on fc6 (some assistance needed)

falco, I'm going to go ahead and try a few things here on my own. I just started looking into what might have went wrong and the first thing that I checked was that when I did the copy:

cp -dpRx / /mnt/md1

/proc and /dev didn't copy so of course initrd is looking for non-existant directories. I'm going to try:

dd if=/dev/sdb of=/dev/sda

and then continue from there to see if I can make this work. Do you have any suggestions at this point?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd March 2008, 23:19
rbanks rbanks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Raid1 + LVM on fc6 (some assistance needed)

Well, I decided to bail on this one. No one seems to want to tackle this problem and I don't have the time so if anyone figures this out and catches this thread post your methods. I would sure like to convert this 2 disk running system to a raid1.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2008, 19:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I can't help at this stage, but as I said earlier, I might write a tutorial about it soon.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fetchmail assistance needed pcburner HOWTO-Related Questions 1 20th February 2008 06:33
Raid1 advice needed. ubutux Installation/Configuration 6 17th November 2007 02:54
On: Recover Data From RAID1 LVM Partitions With Knoppix Linux LiveCD saracen HOWTO-Related Questions 1 11th May 2007 09:57
Software RAID1 + LVM on FC5 Daisy Installation/Configuration 3 6th February 2007 13:47
Help....package missing sbovisjb1 Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2006 11:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.