Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th February 2008, 16:37
tcroteau tcroteau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS - Create Record to Reach Site Without "www"

Hello All,
I was wondering if somebody can walk me through the steps to configure a site to be accessible without "www":

http://domain.net

I see the "Shared IP" page at the moment.

TIA,

Tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th February 2008, 12:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Are you using ISPConfig? Did you create a Co-Domain for domain.net (with an empty hostname)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th February 2008, 13:41
tcroteau tcroteau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko,
My apologies. Yes, I'm using ISPConfig and no, I have not created a co-domain. I guess that's where the answer lies. Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th February 2008, 19:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcroteau
I guess that's where the answer lies. Thanks!!!
Yes, that's right.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
tcroteau (29th February 2008)
  #5  
Old 1st March 2008, 19:48
lano lano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 94
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

And when you do that, you can add a little trick:
go to your codomain with empty hostname, forward and forward it to http://www.mydomain.net
And now, whenever you fo to http://mydomain.net, you'll get www in front in your browser
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2014 20:17
Creating a new site for an exisiting DNS domain pjdevries Installation/Configuration 6 6th June 2007 20:21
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
DNS Offline after create new site freeborn Installation/Configuration 5 25th July 2006 18:03


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.