Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th February 2008, 21:01
thatjoshguy thatjoshguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy noob questions regarding domains/subdomains/initial setup

Hello all!

First off, yes, I'm very new to all of this. I do basic tech support at an ISP that has graciously allowed me to set up my own server. Of course, I installed ISPconfig immediately as it seems very user-friendly.

I had no trouble getting it installed with CentOS, and even had a few test sites running on it using domains from no-ip.org to test.

Now I'm ready to place some real content on this baby, and realized that I have no idea how to configure it the way I want!

Heres what I'd like to do:

I currently have a domain that is hosting a website on a different server (www.thatjoshguy.com) I would like to migrate that site to my server. (I know how to do that)

I have another domain with another site on the same server as before (www.shrevefamily.com) that will also be migrated over.

That part is simple enough... what I don't understand is this:

I'm going to be installing Drupal and Gallery2 as multisite instalations.

I want to be able to access the server at "server.thatjoshguy.com"
I want to be able to access the Drupal Core at "drupal.thatjoshguy.com"
and I want to be able to access the Gallery2 Core at "gallery.thatjoshguy.com"

Now, currently, the domain thatjoshguy.com's nameservers are my ISP's. i know that ISPconfig can serve up some DNS entries for subdomains, but I have no idea how! What do I point where? I've looked through the forums and whatever tutorials I can find on the web, but they may have just confused me even more.

Would it be easier to register a new domain specifically for the server such as www.mydomain.com, and then host www.thatjoshguy.com and ww.shrevefamily.com as regular sites, and set up subdomains for the drupal and gallery installations such as drupal.mydomain.com, gallery.mydomain.com? What should my ns1 and ns2 entries be for the domain and my server settings?

Would anyone be so kind as to lend me a hand? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th February 2008, 09:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,083
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,397 Times in 4,241 Posts
Default

If you want to host your own DNS records, you need 2 servers, one for the primary and one for the secondary DNS. If you can leave the DNS records at the DNS server of your ISP, I recommend that for you.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General questions regarding ISPConfig setup FXT Installation/Configuration 9 16th March 2008 12:32
dns setup questions bennyhill Server Operation 1 14th August 2007 14:36
General Server Setup Questions: southernman Installation/Configuration 2 12th August 2007 13:23
Server Setup Questions Techman Installation/Configuration 1 18th March 2007 19:07
Total Noob just setup first ubuntu server woodies HOWTO-Related Questions 1 19th October 2006 15:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.