Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st January 2008, 13:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Unhappy Hetzner to stop support for High-Availability Setups

I've heard it several times from different people now, and I've just talked to Mr. Pirner from Hetzner myself: due to security reasons Hetzner ( www.hetzner.de ) will stop support for high-availability solutions (heartbeat/keepalived etc.) in the next weeks or months. If you have a subnet with multiple IP addresses, they will bind the IP addresses to a server so that it will not be possible to have a virtual or shared IP address (as shown in my HA tutorials, e.g. http://www.howtoforge.com/high-avail...at-debian-etch and http://www.howtoforge.com/haproxy_lo...er_debian_etch ).

They will send out an email to all their customers in the next days, and then it will take a few weeks or months until they make the switch. Until now, they don't offer an alternative solution for people that need HA (such as HowtoForge - HowtoForge runs on an HA cluster at Hetzner), but they told me that if enough people ask for such a solution they might come up with something.

So I'm asking everyone who currently has a HA setup at Hetzner or is interested in doing it to post here. If we are enough, hopefully we can urge Hetzner to change their minds.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Smirnov (31st January 2008), till (31st January 2008), toodles (31st January 2008)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st January 2008, 14:11
orcar orcar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a few customer who need the HA function and they all will ask for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st January 2008, 16:43
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm currently relying on a HA setup on 2 servers with Hetzner. I need a HA solution as the non-profit organization I represent has previously had to deal with downtime and has caused them considerable problems. HA solves and prevents these issues for them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2008, 17:24
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 260
Thanked 145 Times in 127 Posts
Default

Sorry to hear about this.
I'm not using Hetzner, but wish you all who do good luck!
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st January 2008, 23:49
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just to make people aware, this topic is also being discussed in the Hetzner forum in German at http://forum.hetzner.de/wbb2/thread.php?postid=99547

To view the forum, one must sign up. It is subject to manual verification though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st February 2008, 10:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I've just signed up to the Hetzner forum. Let's see...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th May 2008, 16:42
cgick cgick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi folks,

we are located in rz 6 which still allows some subnets to be used by two machines on virtual interfaces. our latest subnet which we registered though doesn't route to both machines any more.

did you get any feedback from hetzner? the support simply told me via e-mail that ha-solutions aren't supported any more and theres no alternative.

i read that virtual mac-addresses could do the job? maybe we could even fake the mac by the active machine to bypass that check. did anyone of you guys get information obout alternatives?

best regards,
chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th May 2008, 09:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Haven't heard anything back from Hetzner. I'm really hoping they don't touch existing HA setups. If they do, we will leave...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th May 2008, 10:08
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Is this really a technical issue? Just a guess: If a customer runs a HA setup, the server will most likely have very much traffic. As all traffic is included in the price of the current servers, hetzner just might not want these high traffic customers or any new customers with high traffic anymore as the bandwith they consume are for sure above there mean price calculation...
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th May 2008, 21:25
toodles toodles is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Is this really a technical issue? Just a guess: If a customer runs a HA setup, the server will most likely have very much traffic. As all traffic is included in the price of the current servers, hetzner just might not want these high traffic customers or any new customers with high traffic anymore as the bandwith they consume are for sure above there mean price calculation...
I agree, this is a very plausible explanation. After all, taking a look at the pricing:

DS3000 = 1000GB/Month = 49 = 0.049/GB

Everything that goes over the 1000GB/Month costs 0.09/GB, almost twice as expensive. Therefor it's cheaper to use a high-availability(HA) solution in terms of traffic, if you're using a lot of traffic. Of course, there's other ways to do this, but HA is of course nice to have... I mean, it IS highly available! :-P

toodles
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
Another ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your sy hoopsx3 Installation/Configuration 2 29th January 2007 07:56
Install Error Alpha Installation/Configuration 9 6th April 2006 19:48
setup fails on debian 3.1 dtrumbower Installation/Configuration 7 7th March 2006 13:42
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.