Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd January 2008, 13:55
HenryTheEight HenryTheEight is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can't see mysql databases created by phpmyadmin

Hi,

I am new to ispconfig and linux (Centos), but have found ispconfig a very easy to use application.

My problem: phpmyadmin seems to be able to list and display the databases
created by ispconfig e.g. web1_db1 etc. and all works well i.e. the databases
are listed on the left column on phpmyadmin. However, databases created
directly by the phpmyadmin control panel e.g. "db_test" does not show up on the please select a database column.

I only can see the database using mysql commands "show databases;". Is this a bug or do I need to do something to make phpmyadmin recognise the newly created database. Without being able to select the "db_test" database, I won't be able to use the web GUI functions to manipulate db_test.

Help appreciated.... with thanks

BTW using phpmyadmin 2.11.4 ispconfig 2.2.19

Last edited by HenryTheEight; 22nd January 2008 at 14:00.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd January 2008, 22:50
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default No bug

If you want to display the databases you mention, please remove "test" or "information_schema" from the line:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['hide_db'] = '(information_schema|mysql|pmadb|test)';

within the phpMyAdmin configuration file, which is: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web/phpmyadmin/config.inc.php
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd January 2008, 01:17
HenryTheEight HenryTheEight is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks for solving this

Hans,

Thanks for the tip. Of all the database names to choose from, I had
to be lucky enough to choose a default hide-db name like "db_test".

I have since created another database with a more 'unique' database name (i.e. something without the word 'test' or 'mysql' etc.) in it. And ... now all
is well and working. Now the database with a new name is no longer hidden.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th April 2012, 14:27
Desp Desp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Desp Send a message via Yahoo to Desp
Default Can't find SQL databases

Hi,

I have done an upgrade from ubuntu 11.10 to 12.04 and the problem is that I can see my site up and running while I can't see the database in phpmyadmin. Is there a way to find the old databases or find why I cant see them in phpmyadmin anymore. My website is selman.us

I have also 2 other sites that show a new wordpress installation when I try to open them and they seem can't see the databases created for this sites before.

So actually I have 2.5 website working out of 5 and can't see any of the databases in phpmyadmin.

Please help!
__________________
Mahmoud Selman
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Desp For This Useful Post:
bowlAltetle (26th July 2014)
  #5  
Old 27th April 2012, 14:38
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Please take a look into the directory /var/lib/mysql/ on your server, there should be a subfolder with the name of the database for each db.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Williamsl (8th July 2014)
  #6  
Old 27th April 2012, 14:44
Desp Desp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Desp Send a message via Yahoo to Desp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please take a look into the directory /var/lib/mysql/ on your server, there should be a subfolder with the name of the database for each db.
Awesome till, I can see them there thank you alot. Can I just import them to phpmyadmin again? I tried but getting permission denied.
__________________
Mahmoud Selman

Last edited by Desp; 27th April 2012 at 14:47.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phpmyadmin "Cannot load mysql extension. Please check your PHP configuration" rjamesd Programming/Scripts 4 23rd October 2007 16:27
cannot assign MySQL databases tom Installation/Configuration 2 29th March 2007 12:46
Messed up ISPConfig-2.2.8 Upgrade Morons Installation/Configuration 4 29th November 2006 12:17
Recovering unlinked mysql databases and users... Dave Lane Installation/Configuration 2 10th May 2006 19:45
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.