Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th January 2008, 08:25
B767Mike B767Mike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon (Ubuntu 7.10)

First off I am brand new to this server install. I have been using Ubuntu 7.10 for a few months now. Really enjoy it. Moved my home computer and notebook over from windows, get lost a bit, but slowly I find my way.

Server connected to home network through a router. All other computers (5, 3 wired 2 wireless) in house connect through same router.

Trying to set up a server. Following instruction in The Perfect Server - Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon (Ubuntu 7.10). Everything goes according to plan until I get to page 33 where it states, "Edit /etc/network/interfaces"

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1

Ok, did that but I do not get the same results when I restart the network. Or at least this is where I think the problem is.... Then edit /etc/hosts You are supposed to see
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.100 server1.example.com server1.

I see
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain
127.0.0.1 unbuntu.socal.rr.com <-- this is my server unbuntu, rr is my isp

Why am I not seeing the change in address from 127.... to 192..... Also if I change from DHCP to static I cannot access the internet. When I changed to static i could not apt-get anything. Changing back to DHCP and deleting let me get the apt-get to work.

I think I just answered my own question... Looking back over my settings I need to change gateway to whatever my router is set up for, otherwise it wont know who to talk to.... Is that correct.

If not will somebody point me in the right direction....

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th January 2008, 16:05
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B767Mike
Ok, did that but I do not get the same results when I restart the network. Or at least this is where I think the problem is.... Then edit /etc/hosts You are supposed to see
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.100 server1.example.com server1.

I see
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain
127.0.0.1 unbuntu.socal.rr.com <-- this is my server unbuntu, rr is my isp
You must change 127.0.1.1 to 192.168.0.100.

Quote:
Originally Posted by B767Mike
I think I just answered my own question... Looking back over my settings I need to change gateway to whatever my router is set up for, otherwise it wont know who to talk to.... Is that correct.
Yes, you must use an IP address that's in your subnet as well as your router'S internal IP address as the gateway. So if you subnet is 192.168.55.x, then you can't use 192.168.0.100 for your server, but 192.168.55.100 should work (assuming that this IP address is free).

When you use DHCP, please run
Code:
ifconfig
and post the output here.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th January 2008, 21:19
B767Mike B767Mike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ifconfig results..

eth0 inet addr:192.168.1.106 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:159318 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:59 frame:0
TX packets:14323 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:66694738 (63.6 MB) TX bytes:1442462 (1.3 MB)

lo inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask 255.0.0.0
inet adddr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNINGNMTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:304 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:304 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:30344 (29.6 KB) TX bytes:30344 (29.6 KB)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2008, 22:20
unclecameron unclecameron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 115
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

so does it work now?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th January 2008, 23:01
B767Mike B767Mike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not yet. I changed a few lines

static and the address lines but still came up with the same

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain
127.0.0.1 unbuntu.socal.rr.com <-- this is my server unbuntu, rr is my isp

I had my sons windows notebook with me and when I changed a few of the lines, such as address, broadcast etc, got an error on the windows machine that there was an conflict. So I know I am going in the right direction. Have to change the address or broadcast or something, but I have to leave for work and won't be able to work on it till I get back tomorrow.

From my notes Here is my windows machine
ipconfig/all

DNS Suffix...socal.rr.com
DHCP enabled....yes
IP Address.... 192.168.1.102
Subnet Mask..255.255.255.0
Default gateway...192.168.1.1
DHCP Server.....192.1681.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2008, 19:16
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B767Mike
ifconfig results..

eth0 inet addr:192.168.1.106 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:159318 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:59 frame:0
TX packets:14323 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:66694738 (63.6 MB) TX bytes:1442462 (1.3 MB)
Try this:
IP address 192.168.1.100 (if the IP is free)
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.0
Broadcast: 192.168.1.255
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.10 Server Question n74jw HOWTO-Related Questions 5 27th January 2008 12:14
RAID 1 on Perfect Server LAMP Centos 5.1 or Ubuntu? dizzyfingers Suggest HOWTO 1 14th December 2007 12:43
Help installing ISPConfig on Ubuntu 7.10 Server Peasant Dave Installation/Configuration 7 25th October 2007 00:27
Perfect Setup Ubuntu 6.06 Server Damnation HOWTO-Related Questions 1 19th August 2006 13:49
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.