Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th January 2008, 22:29
antun antun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 38
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Recommended install for Plone on an ISPConfig server?

Hi all,

I have an ISPConfig server, and on that I have a number of domains. I'm planning to install plone for one of those domains.

Plone, by default, installs zope and that listens on port 8080. The Plone install docs offer two approaches:

Install as root: Plone ends up here: /opt/Plone-3.0.5. Zope then needs to be started as root.
Install as normal user: Plone ends up $HOME/Plone-3.0.5. Zope then needs to be started as my normal user.

What recommendations do people have for installing Plone on ISPConfig? Should I install as root or a regular user? I guess I'll then have to use Apache Directives to have a subdomain of my domains forward to Plone?

Are there any other approaches people recommend?

Thanks,

Antun
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th January 2008, 13:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

I've never tried Plone, but I think I'd try the second option.

I don't know if you need a special Apache configuration for it, but if so, you should put it into the Apache Directives field or an .htaccess file.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2008, 18:26
antun antun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 38
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks falko. I'll try that and post an update.

Do you know if ISPConfig has hooks to put additional startup scripts for an individual user? Zope will have to be started separately, by the looks of it. Is it safe to put stuff in /etc/init.d, or will ISPConfig overwrite that?

-Antun
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th January 2008, 17:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,727 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antun
Is it safe to put stuff in /etc/init.d
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by antun
or will ISPConfig overwrite that?

-Antun
No.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 22:38
Install SquirrelMail with yum on ISPConfig server? wpwood3 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 9th October 2007 10:25
ISPConfig install failure grimmers Installation/Configuration 20 26th July 2006 13:44
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.