Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th January 2008, 17:19
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setup problem ? affecting Joomla 1.5 install

Hi.. I am still finding my feet with ISPCONFIG and need to install Joomla 1.5.

I have created a new site (under reseller, client) and set up as subdomain.domain.com. All is marked in DNS. Set up admin user for the site, given password, admin rights, and created database etc.

Then ftped to the only account for that particular site (as ftp subdomain.domain.com), login with aforementioned username and password (which is not the main ISPCONFIG UID!) and ftped over the various files as per joomlacode.org/gf/download/docmanfileversion/ 630/16087/1.5_Installation_Manual_version_0.4.pdf.

Whatever I do or try, typing post install http://subdomain.domain.com does not bring up Joomla installation as it implies. Just a "it works" message from ISPCONFIG.

Looking at the ftp, when I log in it gives me the default of / and I have tried copying the files in /web and also when that did not work in /user/web6_test/web (web6_test is the given name to the user) and neither work.

I had assumed the former should be the correct, but both don't work.

What am I doing wrong, apart from losing hair in the process.

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th January 2008, 18:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you enabled the "administrator" option for the ftp user that you used to upload the files. Otherweise the files will go to the users home directory. Also make sutre that you uploaded all files into the "web" folder of the user account.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th January 2008, 19:04
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. I will check this when by the machine in the morning (all is on my desktop). Many thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th January 2008, 09:23
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi. There is so far only one user associated with the web and administrator was checked. I had tried copying both the entire archive contents (unzipped) into both web directories (per original message) and then copying the entire directory, so you would either have /(default directory)/joomla/(files) and /(default directory)/(files) and ddn't work.

I've not changed the logins from when you helped set up the system and there is only one web so far in the system in case it is something to check
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th January 2008, 13:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

You should not copy the files to the ftp root directory, you must put them inside the "web" directory.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th January 2008, 13:53
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I believe I have tried both locations:

"Looking at the ftp, when I log in it gives me the default of / and I have tried copying the files in /web and also when that did not work in /user/web6_test/web (web6_test is the given name to the user) and neither work."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th January 2008, 14:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luoto
Whatever I do or try, typing post install http://subdomain.domain.com does not bring up Joomla installation as it implies. Just a "it works" message from ISPCONFIG.
What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th January 2008, 14:16
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
# Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 85.134.36.141:80
<VirtualHost 85.134.36.141:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
NameVirtualHost 85.134.36.142:80
<VirtualHost 85.134.36.142:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: test.smalltalk.fi:80




ingra124:~ # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:06:4F:48:2C:63
inet addr:192.168.0.95 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::206:4fff:fe48:2c63/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:30234532 errors:0 dropped:668 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:26259028 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3181797154 (3034.3 Mb) TX bytes:889456156 (848.2 Mb)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xec00

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:27308 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:27308 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1946938 (1.8 Mb) TX bytes:1946938 (1.8 Mb)



(note external IP number mapped in firewall to internal address).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th January 2008, 18:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You're using the wrong IP address in ISPConfig. It must be 192.168.0.95. For web sites you must always use the IP address that you find in the output of
Code:
ifconfig
For DNS records, you should use the public IP instead.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th January 2008, 09:38
luoto luoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for delay ! Was ill.

One feels so stupid for such a simple thing. Thank you that worked.

Would this be possible in ispconfig3 to support strange configurations as mine (i.e. write external addresses so that end users don't see the internal IPs)?

How do I make configuration.php Writable by the way? Joomla sems to want that open.
T
anks Darren

EDIT: ALL OK NOW, THANKS

Last edited by luoto; 11th January 2008 at 12:10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with spanassassin on install Desorder Installation/Configuration 6 9th January 2008 16:44
Gentoo Perfect Setup problem Apache PHP dschmid HOWTO-Related Questions 2 29th November 2007 16:27
ISPconfig Virtual Hosts + Perfect setup Problem ? orasis Installation/Configuration 5 16th March 2007 10:46
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04
MySQL problem on install badben Installation/Configuration 12 20th December 2005 12:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.