Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th December 2007, 19:57
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Can't get server to work on the web need some help

hello everybody
this is my first try with linux server so i am no expert, but i learned some new things with linux, i used debian etch 4.0r1server also i followed the perfect setup for debian etch instructions and thanks alot to mr/Falko without this help it will take me may be at least a few months to set it up.
I have ISPConfig installed and i setup the DNS on it for the domain ,i checked the box Create DNS , the domain is registered with a company (registerar) , also i have to mension that i am using a Router with a cable modem.
now I can see the site (index) on the localhost but i can't see it or access it
outside the server on the web or the internet, i tried so many computers to
get to the site from outside but it does not work.
I ping the dns from network tools and it works fine also if i enter the ip in browser from outside computer on the web it comes on with shared IP page but if i use the name www.mydomain.com it syas cannot find page.
I ping the dns [ns1.mydomain.com] from another computer it says Request timed out.
I don't know what i am missing , i even reinstalled the OS 3 times to clean the system and still didn't work.
so i am not sure what could be the reason, is it the files like hosts, hostname, network interfaces, or could be from ISPConfig ?
I attached some files in zip format it may help.
Thanks very much for help in advance it will be appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip files.zip (1.3 KB, 189 views)

Last edited by kadi; 14th December 2007 at 22:45.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th December 2007, 16:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Can you post the real domain name so that I can test?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2007, 20:20
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Thanks for your reply

hello mr/Falko
Thanks for your response.
the domain name is: kandkmarket.com
I attached some files may be it will help.
Thanks again for your help i appreciate it.
Attached Files
File Type: doc hostname.doc (19.0 KB, 249 views)
File Type: doc interfaces.doc (19.0 KB, 211 views)
File Type: doc hosts.doc (19.0 KB, 205 views)
File Type: doc Isp_config_conf.doc (23.0 KB, 226 views)

Last edited by kadi; 16th December 2007 at 01:24. Reason: adding some files
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th December 2007, 13:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadi
the domain name is: kandkmarket.com
That domain doesn't exist:

Code:
server2:/home/admin# dig kandkmarket.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> kandkmarket.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 51982
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;kandkmarket.com.               IN      A

;; Query time: 597 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Sun Dec 16 13:58:31 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 33

server2:/home/admin# dig www.kandkmarket.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> www.kandkmarket.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 34744
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.kandkmarket.com.           IN      A

;; Query time: 283 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Sun Dec 16 13:58:36 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 37

server2:/home/admin# dig ns kandkmarket.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> ns kandkmarket.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 65426
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;kandkmarket.com.               IN      NS

;; Query time: 289 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Sun Dec 16 13:58:41 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 33

server2:/home/admin#
There aren't even nameservers for that domain. Are you sure you registered that domain?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th December 2007, 21:02
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Smile Thanks again and here is whois results.

hello again
here is whois results for the site :
Domain Name: KANDKMARKET.COM
Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.opensrs.net
Name Server: NS1.KANDKMARKET.COM
Name Server: NS2.KANDKMARKET.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 10-dec-2007
Creation Date: 04-mar-2002
Expiration Date: 04-mar-2008
You think the registrar could send the dns wrong numbers ? by the way i have
to explain somthing:
1- i am with cable company with cable modem and i am using a netgear
router also i setup a static ip in the router with: 192.168.0.100.
2- i called cable company and they gave me the dns numbers and when
i ping with network tools this numbers works.
I don't know what to say , if it is my server or from the registrar , would it be
a bad idea to go to easyDNS and take a secondary dns ? is that will work?
as i mensioned i my first post that i am very new to linux and i am trying it
because i got tired of others, i am doing my best to get this server working,
sometime may be i mess up the files because i don't know better.
should i format or just install debian from the beginning again? another thing , could it be ISPConfig setup for dns is wrong ?
Today i got email from the registrar(domainnamesystems) they offer a dns $10 a year also
they offer a dynamic dns for cable modems and router as private server, If you think
it is better to take one of those fine with me.
also i saw a tutorial on the web (How to create your own DNS) finally my cable company
support said i don't need one because i am using router.

Thanks again for your help

Last edited by kadi; 17th December 2007 at 06:35.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th December 2007, 17:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

At least you have nameservers now:

Code:
[root@server1 ~]# dig ns kandkmarket.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> ns kandkmarket.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 47938
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;kandkmarket.com.               IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
kandkmarket.com.        104781  IN      NS      ns1.kandkmarket.com.
kandkmarket.com.        104781  IN      NS      ns2.kandkmarket.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.kandkmarket.com.    104781  IN      A       24.158.63.9
ns1.kandkmarket.com.    104781  IN      A       24.158.63.8

;; Query time: 159 msec
;; SERVER: 62.109.123.7#53(62.109.123.7)
;; WHEN: Mon Dec 17 17:15:20 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 101

[root@server1 ~]#
Now you can go ahead and create records for kandkmarket.com on ns1.kandkmarket.com and ns2.kandkmarket.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig running on default web server (port 80) geek.de.nz Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2008 10:32
Help Forwarding Incoming Requests to Other Internal Machines (not the web server) jkrell Installation/Configuration 16 27th October 2006 23:46
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Web Server: Offline Kraethor Installation/Configuration 7 30th November 2005 11:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.