#1  
Old 27th November 2007, 05:28
Lvcoyote Lvcoyote is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Yum aint so Yummy!!

Started my computer, did a few things, then opened Yum. It tried to connect to all the different RPM servers with errors given for each one, kept saying "Trying different Mirror, but never connected to anything. Now when I open Yum, all I get is:

After waiting 30 minutes and trying to open Yum...

"Another application is currently running which is accessing software information."

Whats up with that, yum was working fine yesterday????

Fedora 8
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th November 2007, 08:33
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Maybe the last post in this thread helps you: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=897982
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th November 2007, 03:39
Lvcoyote Lvcoyote is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yea, I managed to get updatesd turned off and at least now the add/remove software and yum extender will load, but now they wont conntect to anything. Yum in F8 has some real issues that need to be addressed. There are a lot of people having the exact same issue I am having, but no fix. I guess I'm going to have to try another Distro as an OS that cant be updated or new applications installed is pretty much worthless.

Just another example why people get so frustrated with Linux, and Microsoft continues to dominate.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th November 2007, 09:52
superswade superswade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Fixed it!

Try running these two commands:

yum clean dbcache
yum clean packages

I had the same issue but ran these two commands and now Fedora 8 "Package Updater" and "Add/Remove Software" apps are working fine.

Regards, Scott
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st December 2007, 06:21
Lvcoyote Lvcoyote is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The problem ended up being the setup gude I followed on this site. The author suggested loading this command:
Quote:
yum install yumex yum-fastestmirror yum-skip-broken yum-fedorakmod yum-kernel-module yum-refresh-updatesd
It was suggest on Fedora Forums to remove all those, and that did the trick. Not sure which one of those was actually causing the issue, but my hunch is the yum-refresh-updatesd was the root of evil.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st December 2007, 11:16
o.meyer o.meyer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Hi Lvcoyote,

I don't recommend to remove all these plugins - they'll prevent much bigger problems that the one you had (except yum-refresh-updatesd). I'm using these plugins without any problems.

Best regards,

Olli

Last edited by o.meyer; 1st December 2007 at 11:19.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd September 2010, 11:00
yandiego yandiego is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Another application is currently running which is accessing software information

to resolve this problem on CentOS 5.4:

[root@localhost]# ./etc/init.d/yum-updatesd-helper stop

or

[root@localhost]# ps -ef|grep yum

root 2558 1 0 03:28 ? 00:00:00 /usr/bin/python -tt /usr/libexec/yum-updatesd-helper --check --dbus
root 2785 2783 0 03:38 pts/1 00:00:00 grep yum

[root@localhost]# kill -9 2558

enjoy!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd September 2010, 16:58
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 426
Thanks: 33
Thanked 55 Times in 38 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
Default Speed

Haven't used Fedora in almost 3 years now. Got tired of the too reckless speed they were pushing forward with. So I changed to Ubuntu and was quite pleased with it and Debian on server side. Now they (Debian) did the exact same mistake with ClamAV end of life. Looks like I can't win. I would like to see Linux distro that has 1 version/year. (With LTS option on server side.) That has little or no bugs when It finally comes out and actually supports the most common office devices. (End of rant.)
__________________

Sami Mattila
Internet-Content

Telephone:
00358942833310
Email: firstname.lastname@internet-content.org
Shop: http://shop.internet-content.net
Site: http://www.internet-content.net
Blog: http://www.internet-content.net/en/blog
FB: https://www.facebook.com/internetcontent

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YUM and RPM gone? Niekoesj Technical 1 6th October 2007 11:45
Yum Fails Error Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo peter5898 Installation/Configuration 2 25th October 2006 18:46
Yum or apt-get install question thim Installation/Configuration 3 20th September 2006 17:38
YUM Install of OpenSSL does NOT have CA.pl CrimsonSkyZS Server Operation 1 28th May 2006 20:47
local yum repository viviotech Server Operation 4 23rd May 2006 09:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.