#1  
Old 1st August 2005, 20:39
cfexplorer517 cfexplorer517 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default External USB HDD

Just wondering if and how I install a external HDD into Debian and be recognized as a partition.

Would I have to do that at setup and such.

Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th September 2005, 10:36
dranieri dranieri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to dranieri
Default External USB HDD

Would like to know that as well and if http://backuppc.sourceforge.net/index.html
This open source program will work with it. Seems online data backup is a niche with large profit potential
Could this also be made as a plugin for ISPConfig?
__________________
Thank You,
David
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th September 2005, 04:12
dianer dianer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dover, PA, USA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i'm interested in changing to a larger hard drive on my server and upgrading my processor.....how will i go about doing this without messing up the debian server i've set up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th September 2005, 08:52
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,787
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

Changing the processor is no problem under linux, as long as you do not change the mainboard.

To change the Harrdisk you must either

1) reinstall the server with the new harddisk
2) use the harddisk as separately mounted data partition
3) or need a good amount of linux knowledge to mount 2 harddisks, copy linux to the new one with correct permissions and make it bootable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd January 2006, 12:09
dante06 dante06 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default external hdd

hey there
i managed to get my ipod working as an external hdd, but i can't get no other hdds working! any ideas?

greez dante
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd January 2006, 17:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Did you format your other hdds (I mean: is there a file system on them) before you connected them to your Linux system?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.