#1  
Old 4th October 2007, 06:26
Upyr Upyr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newbie DNS question

Hello!!!

I'm kind of a newbie with DNS and I have a little question about the DNS architecture and configuration. I have registered a domain (without any DNS) and want to bind it with my IP address so my server gets seen on the Internet.
I configured the zones in my named.conf file following the instructions in the Traditional DNS Setup How-to and I also added the zone files in /var/lib/named/. When I run the dig command I get the following:

Code:
 dig skyinternet-net.com.mx

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> skyinternet-net.com.mx
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 21243
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;skyinternet-net.com.mx.                IN      A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
com.mx.                 694     IN      SOA     a.ns.mx. hostmaster.nic.mx. 835839 3600 300 604800 1800

;; Query time: 16 msec
;; SERVER: 200.57.64.66#53(200.57.64.66)
;; WHEN: Wed Oct  3 22:16:30 2007
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 96
And that means my domain is not bound to my IP.

Do I have to make my DNS registration with my ISP or something?

Thanks for the help
__________________
Freedom shall be granted to humanity through the power of the penguins
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th October 2007, 06:47
giganet giganet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 243
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to giganet
Arrow

Your domain has no DNS.

What you will want to do is go to DNSExit and sign up for a free DNS account, then create the new DNS records there pointing to your server IP, you will use those DNS records ieg; 'DNS1.DNSEXIT.COM' & 'DNS2.DNSEXIT.COM' in your DNS settings area on your server.


That should have you going?

Have a good one

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th October 2007, 07:29
Upyr Upyr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help.

Now, how do I edit my DNS configuration files to point to those ones?
__________________
Freedom shall be granted to humanity through the power of the penguins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th October 2007, 07:47
giganet giganet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 243
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to giganet
Arrow

Are you running ISPConfig?
OR
WebMin?

If so you will edit the DNS for your domain in the Edit DNS area, you will need to access the admin panel VIA the IP though.


Regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th October 2007, 07:52
Upyr Upyr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, i'm not running either, i'm just running a plain DNS server using BIND
__________________
Freedom shall be granted to humanity through the power of the penguins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th October 2007, 20:57
giganet giganet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 243
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to giganet
Default

You would want to manually edit your zone file then...

Not exactly sure about other distros, I use Ubuntu 6.06 and my zone files are located in '/var/lib/named/etc/bind'.
My zone file is name 'pri.giganetwireless.com'
your's could as well have www as a front appendage rather than pri as mine does though.

Once you locate your domain zone file open it with an editor and look for the following lines to edit:
Code:
        NS      ns1.dnsexit.com.              ; Inet Address of name server 1
        NS      ns2.dnsexit.com.              ; Inet Address of name server 2
This is exactly how my name server line of my zone file appears, the only difference is DNSExit may have you on differently numbered name servers- I don't know, so just use what they provide you in your account.


Let me know if that helped or not?

Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
ISPconfig & DNS newbie question ikaros Installation/Configuration 4 20th September 2006 18:58
Newbie DNS totally confuse. Rock General 9 1st June 2006 01:01
newbie DNS questions Kankles HOWTO-Related Questions 6 20th January 2006 04:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.