#1  
Old 1st September 2007, 13:04
torqhost torqhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I create a subdomain?

How do I create a subdomain? I am guessing it's the co domain feature, but where do I put the files, that correspond to the subdomain? I don't want to do redirection to folders, I just need it to display a subdomain properly.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st September 2007, 14:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Just create a new website. If your subdomain is sub.domain.com, then create a website with:

hostname: sub
domain: domain.com

Every client van have more then one website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2007, 15:13
torqhost torqhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But how can a client create a subdomain? I think only administrator or reseller can create new sites, but I think resellers will not want to create evey subdomain for customers manually.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st September 2007, 15:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Create a reseller account for your client, if you want that the client is able to create new websites.

Co-domains are subdomains and they can be created by the client himself. But if you want a own webspace for a subdomain, it is a website and not a co-domain and websites can only be created by resellers and the admin.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st September 2007, 15:30
torqhost torqhost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I understand what you mean. But I don't need a subdomain to be a separate website, the settings / limits should be as for the parent website, I just need it to point it to a directory inside the website directory, so if I say, for example wiki.somedomain, I would like wiki to point to wiki directory inside the directory for somedomain. Co-domain however can only forward the url from wiki.somedomain to somedomain/wiki. So there is no way to just make it point to a directory and keeping parent settings, but a website needs to be created.
An I correct in my understanding now?

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st September 2007, 15:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

You can do this with custom rewrite rules.

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12783
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st February 2008, 14:10
ataman79 ataman79 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Just create a new website. If your subdomain is sub.domain.com, then create a website with:

hostname: sub
domain: domain.com

Every client van have more then one website.
Ok I create a new website just like you said. My domain is www.domain.com and i deicide to create subdomain test.domain.com, but now when I type the command : ping test.domain.com - it tells me that could not find host test.libra-ag.com

Where is the problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd February 2008, 17:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Please check if the DNS record for test.domain.com is correct. You can check that like this:
Code:
dig test.domain.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squirrelmail - cannot create folders wapa17 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 5th June 2007 20:04
Chroot SSH + ISPConfig Norman Installation/Configuration 27 26th March 2007 03:40
Create a Subdomain PortMan Installation/Configuration 17 16th December 2006 12:17
Chrooted SSH apps bkrausz Tips/Tricks/Mods 14 29th August 2006 23:32
Subdomain with Webspace nsm Installation/Configuration 1 13th June 2006 10:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.