Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th August 2007, 13:44
rjamesd rjamesd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Question Google Desktop Search for Linux - any one got working?

http://desktop.google.com/linux/

Followed their instructions but it didn't work.

Now, every time I install any package via apt-get, whether it works or not, I get the following message:

W: Couldn't stat source package list http://dl.google.com stable/non-free for the APT Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/dl.google.com_linux_deb_dists_stable_non-free%20for%20the%20APT_binary-i386_Packages) - stat (2 No such file or directory)
W: Couldn't stat source package list http://dl.google.com stable/line: Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/dl.google.com_linux_deb_dists_stable_line:_binary-i386_Packages) - stat (2 No such file or directory)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
E: Package webmin has no installation candidate

Messy: Google Desktop for Linux didn't install successfully. However the install process did put something on my machine such that I get these messages.

Any thoughts?

I'm using Debian 4.0 Etch Linux.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th August 2007, 16:34
o.meyer o.meyer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I've just installed it on Fedora 7 (rpm) - works.

You should remove it via "apt-get --purge remove" and try again.
If that won't help, I would expect a problem with the package.

Olli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache doesn't start again vaio1 Installation/Configuration 2 24th August 2007 13:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.