#1  
Old 23rd August 2007, 09:29
satimis satimis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 533
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default About 2nd NIC

Hi folks,


Host OS - Ubuntu 7.04 lamp server amd64
VMWare license.vs.1.0-00
Guest OS to be installed - OpenBSD, Slack


Ubuntu is now running on this server and undergoing fine-tuning

/etc/network/interfaces
Code:
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.10
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1

Do I need adding a 2nd NIC?

If YES what shall I add on;
/etc/network/interfaces
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The management network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.10
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1


# The VMs network interface
auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
        address ???
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1
If NO, can Guest OSs share the NIC/broadband with the Host OS? TIA


B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2007, 10:40
chuckl chuckl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
Posts: 166
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Default

VMWare guest OS installs are virtual machines. They behave as though they are installed on a completely separate computer/environment.
When you create a new Vm in which to install the Guest OS, it asks whether you want the network connection to be bridged, NAT or shared/host.
Simplistically, bridged allows the Guest OS to appear to have it's own IP address, either from DHCP or static, connected to the local network subnet.
NAT is similar, but can do address translation, and shared uses the host computers IP address. All use the existing NIC on the host computer.
While experimenting, I would suggest bridged, which simply makes it appear like another machine on your local network.
I've never tried it, but I'm sure you could install a second NIC on the host, and use that for the VM's, but I've never found it necessary.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postix and 2nd IP problem (on one of my servrs) edge Server Operation 2 29th June 2007 19:29
how to start/bring up a nic at boot that has no IP systimax Server Operation 3 12th May 2007 19:19
Fail to detect NIC satimis Technical 2 24th March 2007 15:38
rdiff-backup on a specific nic card? jake.conk HOWTO-Related Questions 3 20th January 2007 19:19
nic card not starting resnostyle Installation/Configuration 5 19th September 2006 16:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.