Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th July 2007, 17:19
koi koi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default debian, lvm, raid, grub, custom kernel

Hi I have a problem.
I have a debian etch stable.
I made this setup:
3 hd.
3 x 1 gb for /boot raid 1 (out of lvm)
3 x 15 gb for / raid 5 (lvm)
3 x 20 gb for /home raid 5 (lvm)
3 x 256 mb for swap raid 5 (lvm)

I made all during the installation process. I have used lvm on raid 5 partitions.
I have never used lvm before, "only" raid.

The problem is that i have always recompiled kernel by vanilla sources, and i never used initrd cause the "important" things i am usual to put "built in " in the kernel configuration.

This time, with lvm, it doesn't work:
so: Do I have left something out of the kernel? (is dm-mod the part about lvm, right?) ?
Do I need initrd the same?

The error I get during boot is (after raid is corretly started):
VFS: cannot open root device "mapper/name-of-the-volume" or unknown-block (0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
md0 (driver?)*
kernel panic not syncing vfs: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0)

* md0 is the raid 5 metadevice

Thans in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st July 2007, 14:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'd create an initrd and try again to see if it works then.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd November 2007, 11:14
agrimstad agrimstad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Similar set up, similar problem

Like the originator of this thread, I created logical volumes on top of software raid when I installed etch. Now I want to build my own kernel. I followed the steps in "How To Compile A Kernel - Debian Etch."

The new kernel fails to boot because it can't find the root file system, which is a logical volume on top of a raid5 md. The first error diagnostic is "mdadm: no devices listed in conf file were found"

Looing into the contents of the initrd, there's an mdadm.conf and an md.conf file. These are exactly the same as in the initrd of my working kernel. In fact, the whole md set up in the initrd looks to be exactly the same as that for the working kernel/initrd combination.

Any ideas what's really wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd November 2007, 12:59
agrimstad agrimstad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Further information

In my initial attempt to build a custom kernel according to the howto recipe published here, I boldly attempted to go from 2.6.18.5 to 2.6.22-10. Burned by that, I cautiously tried to go to 2.6.18.8, but using the vanilla source rather than source patched by debian and taking all the defaults when running make oldconfig (and in the initial stages of the build). Guess what? That worked following the recipe.

So, I now have a custom kernel. Unfortunately, this doesn't deal with the problems that are driving me to my own kernel, namely limited support for the sensors on my motherboard and my WD hard drives, both of which are too new for 2.6.18.8.

I'm guessing something changed at some point along the road to kernel 2.6.22 which requires changes to one or more utilities such as those associated with mdadm or logical volumes. So my revised question is, how modern a kernel can I use without also building my own custom utilities programs? That is, staying the utilities in etch?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2007, 10:39
agrimstad agrimstad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Never mind

I spent the time working my way, one version at a time, from 2.6.18 through 19, 20, and finally to 2.22.10, using each time the .config from the previous build and make oldconfig. This got me to a working 2.22.10 kernel. So the problem I initially reported was just the result of some mistake I had made.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to agrimstad For This Useful Post:
falko (4th November 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38
Bind Failed christoph2k HOWTO-Related Questions 4 28th April 2007 00:57
Xen 3.0.2 /3.0.3 | No Swap in DomU Merc HOWTO-Related Questions 10 27th March 2007 11:40
WG311v2 almost working with Edgy (w/o ndiswrapper) need help with the rest caudata Server Operation 11 13th November 2006 20:02
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.