Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th July 2007, 17:50
crpowell crpowell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New to Linux - need help downloading ISPConfig

I'm new to Linux and command lines. I followed the instructions in the howto "The Perfect Server - Fedora 7" and have reached the point to install ISPConfig. But, I can't find instructions on how to download ISPConfig using a command line. Please help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th July 2007, 18:06
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

You can use the wget Linux command.

syntax: wget <URL>

More about wget: http://linux.about.com/od/commands/l/blcmdl1_wget.htm
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hans For This Useful Post:
crpowell (13th July 2007)
  #3  
Old 14th July 2007, 03:14
bluethunder82 bluethunder82 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 90
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

In order the download and get the program ready:

1) Move to which ever directory you want to download to

2) Type:
wget http://easynews.dl.sourceforge.net/s...-2.2.xx.tar.gz

Replacing XX with the latest stable release.

3) Once the file has been downloaded type:
tar -xvzf ISPConfig-2.2.xx.tar.gz

this will uncompress the files

4) Move into the directory and install.

That should get you setup.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bluethunder82 For This Useful Post:
crpowell (16th July 2007)
  #4  
Old 23rd July 2007, 18:49
anotherbigal anotherbigal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep. Thanks to advice I've downloaded and unzipped the file to a /download directory that I created specially. And yes, when I look, lo and behold ls /download/install_ispconfig/ reveals that there is a file called setup. Excellent.

As I have never run anything like this before please, how do I actually install ISPConfig from the files I have got and what directory should I put the installation into, or does it do it 'all on its own'?

BigAl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd July 2007, 21:04
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 260
Thanked 145 Times in 127 Posts
Default

Example shown below is with verion ISPConfig 2.2.15.

1) go to the /tmp dir
Code:
cd /tmp
2) download the file (with wget)
Code:
wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/ispconfig/ISPConfig-2.2.15.tar.gz?download
3) unpack the file
Code:
tar xvfz ISPConfig-2.2.15.tar.gz
4) step into the directory that the ISPConfig-2.2.15.tar.gz is unpacked in
Code:
cd install_ispconfig
5) run setup
Code:
./setup
ISPconfig will create all the needed directories.

Make sure that you are root when doing all this.
Login with your username, and type
Code:
su
It will now ask for the root password.

More info here: http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm (scroll down about 1/2 a page, and you will see the install info)
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 23rd July 2007 at 21:10.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to edge For This Useful Post:
anotherbigal (24th July 2007)
  #6  
Old 24th July 2007, 00:02
anotherbigal anotherbigal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Edge. That all worked perfectly.

Only one thing though. At the final questions section I entered the host name as 'www' which I believe is ok - it shows that in the installation instructions you sent the link for - but, and here's my mistake I think, for the next question, 'Please enter the domain' I entered the name of my current website (xxxxxxxxxxx.com). That does not work of course as that is already being hosted by a commercial company. The problem is that I now cannot log in to my ISPConfig control panel. I presume that there is a configuration file somewhere where I can edit out my mistake and replace it with something else. Can you point me to where please, and does the 'something else have to be entirely fictitious or one that is registered. I have an unused (not hosted anywhere) .co.uk name that I could use if necessary.

Sorry for being so stupid

BigAl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: SUSE 10.0 and Software RAID a.k.a FakeRAID crushton HOWTO-Related Questions 35 16th January 2009 19:40
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 12:58
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59
Fedora 5 Linux ispconfig problem Graphite HOWTO-Related Questions 1 12th April 2006 21:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.