#1  
Old 1st July 2007, 23:35
829 829 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Perfect Server Fedora 7

I was not sure if I should post in the other persons thread or not.


I am having issues with quotas on page 4.

When I did this yum install quota, I got:

Code:
[root@server1 ~]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
So I continued on fine until I got to quotacheck -avugm

I got an error about something being truncated. I apologize, but I restarted thinking that the system had become unstable, because I was no longer able to type anything in and I could not open another Terminal screen.

I want to run though the quota setup again, but I am now getting Permission Denied errors. I assume it did setup? How can I uninstall quotas so I can start over?

Fedora 7 x64

Thank you.
__________________
http://mytechdirect.net

Linux noob, but trying to learn.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2007, 00:52
dazblade dazblade is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 829
I was not sure if I should post in the other persons thread or not.


I am having issues with quotas on page 4.

When I did this yum install quota, I got:

Code:
[root@server1 ~]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
I think you did right to create a new thread. I only posted in the other persons thread as I believe my problem was intrinsically related.

Anyway, that yum message generally means that the software is already installed on your system. You can verify it by using:
Code:
yum info quota
To remove a software and its dependencies, you can can use:
Code:
yum remove quota
Hope that helps dude......

Last edited by dazblade; 2nd July 2007 at 02:07.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2007, 15:39
829 829 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Any pointers now?


Code:
[root@server1 ssl]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package quota.x86_64 1:3.14-1.fc7 set to be updated

Dependencies Resolved

=============================================================================
 Package                 Arch       Version          Repository        Size 
=============================================================================
Installing:
 quota                   x86_64     1:3.14-1.fc7     fedora            346 k

Transaction Summary
=============================================================================
Install      1 Package(s)         
Update       0 Package(s)         
Remove       0 Package(s)         

Total download size: 346 k
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/1): quota-3.14-1.fc7.x 100% |=========================| 346 kB    02:30     
Running Transaction Test
Finished Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
  Installing: quota                        ######################### [1/1] 

Installed: quota.x86_64 1:3.14-1.fc7
Complete!
[root@server1 ssl]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
touch: cannot touch `/aquota.user': Permission denied
touch: cannot touch `/aquota.group': Permission denied
[root@server1 ssl]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
chmod: changing permissions of `/aquota.group': Operation not permitted
chmod: changing permissions of `/aquota.user': Operation not permitted
[root@server1 ssl]# mount -o remount /
[root@server1 ssl]# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: Quota for users is enabled on mountpoint / so quotacheck might damage the file.
Please turn quotas off or use -f to force checking.
[root@server1 ssl]# quotaon -avug
quotaon: using //aquota.group on /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 [/]: Device or resource busy
quotaon: using //aquota.user on /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 [/]: Device or resource busy
__________________
http://mytechdirect.net

Linux noob, but trying to learn.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2007, 20:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 829
I got an error about something being truncated.
That's the normal behaviour: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...uota+truncated

Reboot your system, quota should work then.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 18:04
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 16:44
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.