Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2007, 18:11
akaiser akaiser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Apache not working on localhost

Hello,

I've noticed in ISPCONFIG that Apache was not working, but all the hosted websites are accesible... Strange.

I've checked apache with "apachectl status" and get following:

Code:
Looking up localhost
Making HTTP connection to localhost
Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

lynx: Can't access startfile http://localhost/server-status
I've tried to telnet to port 80 and get an error (port 21, 81, etc have no problem).

Any idea?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd June 2007, 15:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
httpd -t
? Any errors in Apache's error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th June 2007, 09:39
akaiser akaiser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The output of httpd -t is

Code:
Syntax OK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th June 2007, 19:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Ok, any errors in Apache's error log?
What's he output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th June 2007, 19:29
akaiser akaiser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

netstat shows

Code:
tcp        0      0 server1.xxx:www *:*                     LISTEN     32034/apache
The hostname is server1.xxx.com

I've checked the apache error log, but there aren't errors related with this (just some "File does not exist: /var/www/sharedip/search.php", etc)

I've also checked apache config (httpd.conf), dind't found nothing strange (for example "ServerName localhost")

If it helps Apache is version 1.3.33 using ispconfig 2.2.13.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th June 2007, 17:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
tcp 0 0 server1.xxx:www *:* LISTEN 32034/apache
Apache is listening on a specific IP address only, not on all IP addresses. ISPConfig probes the Apache on the IP address 127.0.0.1. Because your Apache is not listening on 127.0.0.1, ISPConfig thinks that it's offline.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th October 2010, 14:52
Was33m Was33m is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PLease help

Quote:
Originally Posted by akaiser View Post
The output of httpd -t is

Code:
Syntax OK
i am also having problem in apache service
pinging localhost says its alive
but when i try to run httpd -t . it says httpd not found
i have just installed the wamp server
any idea please help hurry.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th October 2010, 14:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Did you install ISPConfig?

What are the outputs of
Code:
which apache
and
Code:
which apache2
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th October 2010, 18:23
Was33m Was33m is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking It started working itself

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Did you install ISPConfig?

What are the outputs of
Code:
which apache
and
Code:
which apache2
?
well thanks for your concern.
but my apache started working it self in the night.
i don't know what went wrong. apache just stopped i installed the apache service again and again i even installed a new windows but even that didn't worked. then in the night i started apache just to check weather its working or not and i was shocked it actually started working.
i happened twice with me.
i think it would be a magic.
any way it's working now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
postfix problems with smtp linkdeb Server Operation 13 15th March 2014 17:58
Can't connect to Courier-IMAP dekat Server Operation 11 2nd May 2007 15:00
maildir not created t_ras Installation/Configuration 3 1st July 2006 12:52
Internet Mail Problem deezone Installation/Configuration 9 22nd February 2006 21:09
Virtual Users + Domains With Postfix etc. byw HOWTO-Related Questions 6 20th February 2006 10:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.