#1  
Old 21st May 2007, 22:10
flachance flachance is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default munin not updating graphs

I've just installed munin on Debian and followed the instructions for Etch. Unfortunately, the graphs don't seem to be updating. They all have the time that I did the installation & configuration.

The log file munin-update.log gives the following throughout:

May 21 10:40:11 [26418] - INFO: Changing max of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> mysql_queries -> replace to 500000.

May 21 10:40:11 [26418] - INFO: Changing min of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> mysql_queries -> replace to 0.

May 21 10:40:11 [26418] - INFO: Changing type of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> mysql_queries -> replace to DERIVE.

May 21 10:40:11 [26418] - ERROR: Could not rename file: No such file or directory


Plus, based on the entries in the same log file, it doesn't seem like cron is firing the munin-update every 5 minutes. The troubleshooting information from the project web site is lacking details.

Can anybody help with this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd May 2007, 17:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/munin/munin.conf?

BTW, munin is not run by cron.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th June 2007, 10:47
boba boba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same error:

"ERROR: Could not rename file: No such file or directory"

Does anybody know what can be wrong?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2007, 15:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you have a more detailed/complete error message?
Did you follow the tutorial as close as possible, or did you make some changes?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2007, 16:35
boba boba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Do you have a more detailed/complete error message?
Did you follow the tutorial as close as possible, or did you make some changes?
Yes I followed the tutorial but it did not work. The error was:


Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing max of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> interrupts -> intr to 100000.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing min of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> interrupts -> intr to 0.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing type of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> interrupts -> intr to DERIVE.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - ERROR: Could not rename file: No such file or directory

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing max of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> netstat -> passive to 50000.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing min of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> netstat -> passive to 0.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - INFO: Changing type of localdomain -> localhost.localdomain -> netstat -> passive to DERIVE.

Jun 30 02:30:04 [6320] - ERROR: Could not rename file: No such file or directory

etc...


but I have changed the IP address in /etc/hosts for 127.0.1.1 to 127.0.0.1 and now it works like a charm.

Thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st July 2007, 13:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boba
but I have changed the IP address in /etc/hosts for 127.0.1.1 to 127.0.0.1 and now it works like a charm.

Thanks anyway
That's how it's supposed to be. I wonder why you had 127.0.1.1 in /etc/hosts...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
munin permissions sjau HOWTO-Related Questions 10 17th April 2009 17:27
Munin & Monit Hans Server Operation 16 6th November 2006 17:38
SpamAssassin (lugin) with Munin edge Server Operation 4 18th August 2006 23:37
Bind not updating helfrez Installation/Configuration 2 22nd July 2006 14:52
Extension for the monit and munin programs(tut from falko) ColdDoT Server Operation 7 4th May 2006 11:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.