#1  
Old 15th November 2005, 21:49
Kraethor Kraethor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Web Server: Offline

Under Server: Services, that is what I see... Web Server: Offline, even though it shows Web Server: On in the box below. If I watch the process list while I turn it off, they go away and when I turn it on they come back. That seems to work right. What seems broke is whatever tries to monitor the web server. (I'm getting sick of the emails telling me it is down, especially when I CAN open it in a browser and see the processes running)

What is it looking for and how do I help it find it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th November 2005, 23:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

ISPConfig tries to connect to your Apache on 127.0.0.1. If your apache is configured to not run on 127.0.0.1, then ISPConfig shows that your Apache is offline even if it is running (on other IP addresses than 127.0.0.1).

Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
so that I can see if this is what causes the problem.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th November 2005, 03:38
Kraethor Kraethor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know that's what it is... well, at least now I do. I set the listen directive in the httpd.conf to the second ip on the interface. That certainly will stop it from responding on 127.0.0.1.

I was trying to separate ispconfig from the rest of the web sites by giving ispconfig port 80 and 443 on the primary IP, and httpd 80 and 443 on the secondary ip. I guess I chose the wrong way to do it... Do you have a better solution for me? (I need to run ispconfig on 80 or 443 to get by firewalls)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th November 2005, 09:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraethor
I was trying to separate ispconfig from the rest of the web sites by giving ispconfig port 80 and 443 on the primary IP, and httpd 80 and 443 on the secondary ip. I guess I chose the wrong way to do it... Do you have a better solution for me? (I need to run ispconfig on 80 or 443 to get by firewalls)
You can do it like that, if you don't care about the messages from ISPConfig that tell you that your Apache is offline...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th November 2005, 03:25
Kraethor Kraethor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there a better way of doing it? Maybe a way that doesn't involve it constantly letting me know it can't find the web server?

Also, wouldn't it be better if ispconfig looked for the web server on the ip that the public would be hitting it on? (just a thought...) If its a problem of figuring out what ip it is on, parsing the httpd.conf for the LISTEN directive would give it right away. Just my $.02

(You'll find I'm full of opinions and ideas... sometimes even a good one...)

Last edited by Kraethor; 17th November 2005 at 03:44.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th November 2005, 04:25
Kraethor Kraethor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found the "better way" I was looking for! Actually, it is exactly like I had it set up before, with two small additions:

1) in the /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf file, the "Listen" directive is actually 2 lines long...
example:

Listen 1.2.3.4:80
Listen 127.0.0.1:80

Adding the line with the 127.0.0.1 keeps ISPConfig happy.

2) Do the same thing in /etc/httpd/conf.d/ssl,conf for port 443:

Listen 1.2.3.4:443
Listen 127.0.0.1:443


Now that everything runs like it should (I hope) All I have to do is figure out how to administer the resellers/clients/sites. Should be fun!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Setup Behind a Router/Firewall/Cable Modem kisong Installation/Configuration 2 1st August 2010 17:05
POP3 SMTP FTP problem arsu Installation/Configuration 1 11th November 2005 09:32
DNS Server questions BlueStream Server Operation 2 18th October 2005 18:47
ISPConfig and separate machines pfm.smits Installation/Configuration 1 11th October 2005 15:09
Server can't "see" the internet Luciano Installation/Configuration 8 22nd August 2005 23:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.