Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th November 2005, 17:20
dstme dstme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Setting on domain DNS

I register one domain with the registrar and need to change the Nameserver, but I cannot enter with IP address. I can only enter something like NS1.DOMAIN.COM.
I cannot find the nameserver from ISPConfig. Can you show me where..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th November 2005, 17:24
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

What I would do, if possible with your isp is set up DNS "A" records to point ns1.yourdomain.com and ns2.yourdomain.com to point to your public ip address and then you can add those two name servers to your dns entries.

Well its the way i would do it.........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th November 2005, 18:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstme
I register one domain with the registrar and need to change the Nameserver, but I cannot enter with IP address. I can only enter something like NS1.DOMAIN.COM.
I cannot find the nameserver from ISPConfig. Can you show me where..
Then simply create an A record for ns1.domain.com that points to your ISPConfig server (supposed that it should act as the name server...).

The name server settings are under DNS Manager in ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2005, 19:02
dstme dstme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great!, appreciated your help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
Can't send outside domain ejkeebler Server Operation 2 12th November 2005 22:01
Email sent to domain being rejected Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 9 25th October 2005 11:17
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58
choose domain for new emailadresse not possible fuban General 4 5th September 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.