#1  
Old 14th April 2007, 05:55
Rangnarok Rangnarok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SuSe kernel compile error !!

Please help, I am a newbie at Linux, and i have really tried looking into this for 3 days

I am using SuSe10.0 on a host. The ony I can have access to it is remotely, using putty.


I have patched the "2.6.21-rc6" on top of a vanilla 2.6.20 kernel from kernel.org

I have followed your guide on how to compile a kernel on Suse. I have now faced with 2 problems with "make rpm"

1. I can't not find the ".ksyms" file. Those don't have the ".ksyms" part, and i don't have a "find-supplements" either. I skipped this and it seems fine

2. When I do "make rpm", I encounter the following error

Code:
Building target platforms: i386
Building for target i386
error: Failed to rename /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE to /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE: No such file or directory: No such file or directory
I have no idea how to fix this, since your guide is the most helful to date that I can find, and very specific to the system I am using as well.

PLease can you give me some pointer on how to overcome this. Your help is very much appreciated.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2007, 15:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangnarok
1. I can't not find the ".ksyms" file. Those don't have the ".ksyms" part, and i don't have a "find-supplements" either. I skipped this and it seems fine
I think this applies to SuSE 10.1 and 10.2 only, so that should be ok.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangnarok
2. When I do "make rpm", I encounter the following error

Code:
Building target platforms: i386
Building for target i386
error: Failed to rename /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE to /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE: No such file or directory: No such file or directory
Maybe you have to modify the SPEC file somewhere (I guess rpm-spec.MQZpNE must be referenced somewhere). If that doesn't help, you can compile the kernel using the traditional way which works for every distribution. I've described that way in the second part of the Fedora kernel tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_fedora_p2
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2007, 18:02
Rangnarok Rangnarok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for replyng falko

I followed the guide. After i do "make install" the following appears

Code:
Cannot determine dependencies of module processor. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module thermal. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module fan. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_via. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_sil. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module ext2. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_nv. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid0. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid1. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module processor. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module thermal. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module fan. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_via. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_sil. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module ext2. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_nv. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid0. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid1. Is modules.dep up to date?
Driver modules: ide-disk via82cxxx processor thermal fan 3w_9xxx 3w_xxxx sata_via sata_sil ext2 sata_nv amd74xx raid0 raid1
Filesystem modules:     reiserfs ext3 xfs
Including:      klibc initramfs udev fsck.ext2 fsck.ext3 fsck.reiserfs fsck.xfs raidautorun
Bootsplash:     SuSE (800x600)
9622 blocks

Run lilo now to update the boot loader configuration.
Running lilo...
lilo failed to write the boot record for your system.
The output from lilo is:

Duplicate entry 'boot' at or above line 8 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'

Please check manually that your system has a valid boot record!
I don't know if this could affect anything, but when I tried "/boot/grub/menu.lst", there's no "menu.lst file at all. There are a few files that has "stage1_5" at the end of the file name in that folder

I have done somemore reading, and perhaps i think Grub is not install, because when I do this

Code:
grub
savedefault --default=0 --once
quit
the savedefault command says "Error 27: Unrecognized command"

In "/etc", i can't find "grub.conf" either, only "lilo.conf"

I vaguely remember that grub and lilo are 2 ways of booting, from what i have read since starting this. I am thinking of trying to install grub, but since I only have access to the host REMOTELY by PUTTY, I am not sure if i have a luxury of choosing the kernel to boot to when the mahcine starts up.

Any suggestion please falko ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2007, 18:16
Rangnarok Rangnarok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's weird because when I type "grub", it jumps to a windows saying GRUB version 0.97, but when I typed "help", the "savedefault" command is not on the list. I think I have lilo installed instead fo grub. I'll try to figure out howto install a newer version of grub, but please give me suggestions anyway.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th April 2007, 12:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

You have lilo installed, not GRUB. Please open /etc/lilo.conf and check if there are duplicate boot entries. If so, remove one of them, close the file and run
Code:
lilo
Afterwards you can reboot the system.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th April 2007, 16:01
Rangnarok Rangnarok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks falko for trying to help

this is the content of my lilo.conf

Code:
# Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sat Apr 14 16:27:27 CEST 2007

boot = ARRAY(0x8404d44)
root = /dev/sda2
delay = 20
vga = normal
default = Linux
boot = ARRAY(0x8404900)
boot = /dev/sda


image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.21-rc6-default
    label = 2.6.21-rc6-
    append = "splash=silent"
    vga = 0x314
    initrd = /boot/initrd-2.6.21-rc6-default
    root = /dev/sda2


image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20.4-default
    label = 2.6.20.4-de
    append = "splash=silent"
    vga = 0x314
    initrd = /boot/initrd-2.6.20.4-default
    root = /dev/sda2


image = /boot/vmlinuz
    label = Linux
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
    vga = 0x314

There seems to be no duplicate boot image in the file. Is there something wrong with the second line of this then

[code/boot = ARRAY(0x8404900)
boot = /dev/sda[/code]
as the previous error was
Code:
Duplicate entry 'boot' at or above line 8 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'
I think I am really worrying about is, because I don't have physical acess to the box, just remote control with root access, so even IF I manage to make the box load the new kernel, and it fails, then I will lose the box then ? (unless i call tech support at the host probably). This is why I was looking for a way to safely test the kernel first.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xen 3.0.2 /3.0.3 | No Swap in DomU Merc HOWTO-Related Questions 10 27th March 2007 12:40
WG311v2 almost working with Edgy (w/o ndiswrapper) need help with the rest caudata Server Operation 11 13th November 2006 21:02
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 04:38
Installation Fails... :( cyberstorm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 19:07
Install stop at uuwish, UUDeview SeaWolf Installation/Configuration 6 5th October 2005 00:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.