Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th November 2005, 18:34
networkguru00 networkguru00 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Capabilites of bind DNS

I would say that I'm a noob when it comes to working with networks and setting up web pages. But I've never setup a DNS server. What are the capabilities of this DNS server. I understand what DNS does, but can I actually set a domain name and it will be referenced to my ip address. Sorry for the imcompatence, and thanks for any help that can be given.

Nick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th November 2005, 19:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

It allows you to run your own DNS servers. Let's say you are hosting web sites for your customers, and in order to be able to register domains you are a reseller of a domain registrar. Most of these domain registrars offer something like "Managed DNS" which costs a little bit and uses the registrar's name servers.

Now whenever you register a new domain, you must specify name servers that should be responsible for the domain, so you can either buy "Managed DNS", or you specify your own DNS servers which saves you the money for "Managed DNS" (if you have hundreds of domains this can sum up...) and makes you independent because it's you who controls your name servers (imagine your registrar has problems with his DNS servers, or something in the "Managed DNS" web interface doesn't work, or you're allowed to make only 50 DNS changes per day but you want to move a server and have to update 200 domains at once or...)

With ISPConfig you can create DNS records, and whenever you register a new domain you can then specify your ISPConfig servers as authoritative name servers.
If you have two ISPConfig servers you can create the primary DNS records ("Master Records" in ISPConfig talk) on the first server, and on the second server you create secondary DNS records ("Slave Records") so that DNS is still available if one of these two servers fails.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th November 2005, 20:02
networkguru00 networkguru00 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Falko,

Thanks for the quick replay.

Ok, say that I would like to host my own websites and be able to change/add domains as I please. What would be the process that I would have to go through to be able to do this. Is there a company that I should deal with?

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2005, 00:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Ok, this is how I did it:
I register my domains with DirectI. They also offer "Managed DNS".

First, I registered a domain that I use for technical issues only, not for web sites or emails (hostmu.com). For that domain I bought "Managed DNS" and created the A records ns1 - ns6.hostmu.com.
Right now, I use ns5.hostmu.com as primary DNS server, ns6.hostmu.com as secondary DNS. Both run ISPConfig, and I create all records using ISPConfig.
Whenever I want to register a new domain, I create all needed DNS records (A records: www and mail, MX record: mail) before I register the domain. Then I go to DirectI and register the domain, and when I register it, the web interface allows me to put in up to four name servers, so I fill in ns5.hostmu.com and ns6.hostmu.com.
Voil! That's it!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2005, 11:14
rosa hsiao rosa hsiao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Ok, this is how I did it:
Right now, I use ns5.hostmu.com as primary DNS server, ns6.hostmu.com as secondary DNS. Both run ISPConfig, and I create all records using ISPConfig.
Whenever I want to register a new domain, I create all needed DNS records (A records: www and mail, MX record: mail) before I register the domain. Then I go to DirectI and register the domain, and when I register it, the web interface allows me to put in up to four name servers, so I fill in ns5.hostmu.com and ns6.hostmu.com.
Voil! That's it!
If abc.test1.com.tw (203.79.221.xxx) is located behind a firewall with port 53 already mapped to 192.168.1.30.
What IP addresses are you using for ISPConfig's A records:www and mail,MX record:mail?external IP (203.79.xxx.xxx) or internal IP(192.168.1.30)?

I am using abc.test1.com.tw as name server and already register the domain at rs.apol.com.tw. but when I create all needed DNS records (IP: 192.168.1.30) and try to register another new domain (test2.idv.tw) using abc.test1.com.tw as names server . The name server doesn't seem to work. All nslookup A record of www.test2.com.tw is pointing to 192.168.1.30. I can open the website www.test1.com.tw but not www.test2.com.tw.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rosa hsiao For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (4th December 2013)
  #6  
Old 26th November 2005, 11:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,041
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,661 Times in 4,468 Posts
Default

You have to use the external IP for the DNS A Records, otherwise computers outside your local network cant find the server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd January 2006, 23:14
JaJunk JaJunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Ok, this is how I did it:
I register my domains with DirectI. They also offer "Managed DNS".

First, I registered a domain that I use for technical issues only, not for web sites or emails (hostmu.com). For that domain I bought "Managed DNS" and created the A records ns1 - ns6.hostmu.com.
Right now, I use ns5.hostmu.com as primary DNS server, ns6.hostmu.com as secondary DNS. Both run ISPConfig, and I create all records using ISPConfig.
Whenever I want to register a new domain, I create all needed DNS records (A records: www and mail, MX record: mail) before I register the domain. Then I go to DirectI and register the domain, and when I register it, the web interface allows me to put in up to four name servers, so I fill in ns5.hostmu.com and ns6.hostmu.com.
Voil! That's it!
I don't have technical domain, can I do Suse 10 setup with IP as hostname? I also have "managed NS" can I point 2 domains' A and MX records to one IP? And can I turn off bind and still have different host for one domain ex, www and mail.domain.com resolve to different indexdirs
Finally do Yast updates (including kernel patch) come before or after ISPconfig install?

Last edited by JaJunk; 22nd January 2006 at 23:22.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd January 2006, 00:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaJunk
I don't have technical domain, can I do Suse 10 setup with IP as hostname?
Then use localhost.localdomain as hostname. But I strongly recommend to buy a technical domain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaJunk
I also have "managed NS" can I point 2 domains' A and MX records to one IP?
Sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaJunk
And can I turn off bind and still have different host for one domain ex, www and mail.domain.com resolve to different indexdirs
Yes, if the authoritative nameservers for your domain is different from your ISPConfig server.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaJunk
Finally do Yast updates (including kernel patch) come before or after ISPconfig install?
That doesn't matter.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd February 2006, 20:01
nitefox nitefox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Both run ISPConfig, and I create all records using ISPConfig.
Whenever I want to register a new domain, I create all needed DNS records (A records: www and mail, MX record: mail) before I register the domain. Then I go to DirectI and register the domain, and when I register it, the web interface allows me to put in up to four name servers, so I fill in ns5.hostmu.com and ns6.hostmu.com.
Voil! That's it!
So you have two separate servers running identical ISPConfig setups? I'm interested in doing a similar setup as I want to use my own servers as nameservers. How do you keep data synchronized on both servers? It would seem like if your client uploads to ftp.hisdomain.com the nameserver would resolve to one of the servers so they would be inconsistant. How'd you set that up?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd February 2006, 23:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitefox
So you have two separate servers running identical ISPConfig setups?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitefox
I'm interested in doing a similar setup as I want to use my own servers as nameservers. How do you keep data synchronized on both servers? It would seem like if your client uploads to ftp.hisdomain.com the nameserver would resolve to one of the servers so they would be inconsistant. How'd you set that up?
I don't host copies of the same web sites on these servers. Each server hosts totally different web sites for totally different customers.
Only the DNS records are synchronized between the master and the slave.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bind not working radioguy Installation/Configuration 12 24th April 2006 17:53
DNS stuff (bind cfg and theory) Ovidiu Server Operation 28 6th March 2006 08:57
ISPconfig without Bind heyp Installation/Configuration 2 1st October 2005 10:49
Please explain Bind, named, NameServer, DNS domino HOWTO-Related Questions 7 22nd August 2005 11:18
Bind stops and cannot be restarted after a slave domain is added jason Installation/Configuration 20 19th August 2005 09:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.