Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th April 2007, 20:03
equinox equinox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default network problems foor suse 10.2 in Virtual PC

Hi!

I installled suse 10.2 inside Virtual Pc 2004. The network is set to shared networking,NAT in VPC.
The network is not working.
WHen I try to ping a known ip, I get connect network is unreachable.
Do you have an idea how to set the network?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2007, 15:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
? What network settings (network, gateway, etc.) do you use in your LAN?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th April 2007, 19:03
equinox equinox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hi

See attached file for ifconfig.

>What network settings (network, gateway, etc.) do you use in your LAN?
I don''t know what to answer because they are set automatically. I use DSL in Windows.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by equinox; 11th April 2007 at 19:08.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th April 2007, 03:52
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

try
ifup <eth#1>
like

ifup eth0 <enter>
see if that does anything
if not
use the yast tool and goto the network card setting and try to bring up up in there
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th April 2007, 17:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Your SuSE seems to use IPv6 addresses instead of IPv4. Please try to change that (maybe somewhere in YaST).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with adding or deleting users/domains on virtual mail server VelhaChica Server Operation 1 29th March 2007 14:35
No network on virtual server ptomblin HOWTO-Related Questions 5 5th November 2006 16:32
The Perfect Xen 3.0 Setup For Debian - virtual network problem rsacon HOWTO-Related Questions 11 21st April 2006 21:24
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.