Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th March 2007, 14:52
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 211
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default Features for ISPConfig 3

Dear Till,

I know you're busy with the developement of ISPConfig 3.0.
This version will support multiple servers which is very nice.

Is it maybe an idea to install php as a CGI, so we can use suPHP as default in combination with ISPConfig? I think it is a professional solution, which is also used by the bigger hosting companies.

Another nice feature would be that forwarded email is scanned for (virusses and spam) first, before it is forwarded to an external mailaddress.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2007, 16:34
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It's also a major force driving customer to me Hans. php cgi is slow and has problems of it's own. Perhaps have it as an option, but forcing it would mean I wouldn't be able to use version 3.

In my opinion, PHP as CGI is a waste of resources.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th March 2007, 16:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,624
Thanks: 793
Thanked 4,997 Times in 3,909 Posts
Default

ISPConfig 3 will support PHP as module and via SuPHP equally
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th March 2007, 16:50
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 211
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Ok Till,

Sounds great!
Thanks for your reply.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th March 2007, 17:45
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Awesome Till. I love options.

Hans, sorry for my tone, wasn't trying to dismiss PHP as CGI, more that it really should be a option and not forced. I really worded things badly there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th March 2007, 17:58
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 211
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

No bad feelings here
I like to hear your opinion!
Personally i prefer php as a module for "normal"websites and php4 as CGI+suPHP for Content Management Systems for example. But the web admin must be careful with setting permissions of course.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 29th March 2007 at 18:04.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th September 2007, 21:42
CoolFXs CoolFXs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a few questions about ISPConfig3...

1:Will it support mirroring/replication of server?

2:When I create a DNS zone will it create a slave zone on another server automatically?

3:Are there any other mirroring/fail-over features going to be implemented into this version?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th September 2007, 23:40
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

my question is will there be an upgrade from ispconfig2 to ispconfig3 or will it need to be a new install?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th September 2007, 23:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,624
Thanks: 793
Thanked 4,997 Times in 3,909 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
my question is will there be an upgrade from ispconfig2 to ispconfig3 or will it need to be a new install?
No. Because ISPConfig 3 has other software requirements and a ISPConfig 2 setup is not compatible.

There will be a import function for ISPConfig 2 settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th September 2007, 00:03
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
There will be a import function for ISPConfig 2 settings.
So I'd need to set up the server from scratch, then import the settings and then move the data across? Sounds like a big task.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Features alexillsley General 6 23rd December 2006 13:24
New Features Very Important!! dloopsrl Feature Requests 2 4th September 2006 15:14
Several errors and ideas for features jmroth Feature Requests 16 6th March 2006 05:39
disable webmail,MYsql Database features gg234 Installation/Configuration 2 14th September 2005 02:56
ISPConfig Roadmap till Developers' Forum 6 29th August 2005 16:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.