Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th March 2007, 12:21
jameso jameso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default New sites not added to Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? High server loads?

Hi everyone,

I have ISPconfig running on a ubuntu server, and everything has been going well.

The other week I enabled suphp using this tutorial, and modifying the /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php, setting $go_info["server"]["apache2_php"] to "suphp".

Things have been running ok since then, however I have been experiencing high server loads (at least 3), when beforehand the load was usually around 0.2. The server isn't receiving very many visitors.

Top shows that php is using approximately 35% CPU, and there are two or three PHP processes in the top window.

In addition, when I add a new site to ispconfig, I can only see the shared ip message page.

Upon looking in the Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file, no entry is created for the newly added site.

Looking in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log shows things such as:
Code:
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_postfix.lib.php, Line 137: cp -fr /etc/postfix/local-host-names /etc/postfix/local-host-names~
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_postfix.lib.php, Line 284: cp -fr /etc/postfix/virtusertable /etc/postfix/virtusertable~
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_postfix.lib.php, Line 289: postmap hash:/etc/postfix/virtusertable
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 1230: cp -fr /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf~
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - HTTPD_SYNTAX_CHECK: suexec
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => WARN - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 2417: WARNING: could not httpd -t  &> /dev/null
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => WARN - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 2428: httpd syntax seems to contain errors, reloading with old configuration
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 2429: mv -f /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf_24-03-07_20-16-44
24.03.2007 - 20:16:44 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 2430: mv -f /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf~ /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
24.03.2007 - 20:16:46 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_system.lib.php, Line 706: /etc/init.d/apache2 reload &> /dev/null
24.03.2007 - 20:16:46 => INFO - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php, Line 1891: cp -fr /etc/proftpd_ispconfig.conf /etc/proftpd_ispconfig.conf~
I understand that this means that apache is detecting a syntax error in the newly generated config, and then reloads the old configuration.

Running /root/ispconfig/php/php -q /root/ispconfig/scripts/writeconf.php produces the same result.

How can I go about fixing this problem, or the high loads problem?

I was thinking of disabling suPHP, but haven't been able to disable it and get PHP to work as it was before.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th March 2007, 12:35
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

If you use suEXEC, please disable it, as it is not compatible with suPHP.

One more question:

What is the output of your info.php file?
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005

Last edited by Hans; 24th March 2007 at 12:39.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2007, 12:48
jameso jameso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi Hans, thanks for the quick reply.

How would I go about disabling suexec? It's listed in mods-enabled. If i do a2dismod suexec, then httpd -t, I get:
Code:
Syntax error on line 22 of /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf:
Invalid command 'SuexecUserGroup', perhaps mis-spelled or defined by a module not included in the server configuration
Do you mean phpinfo? If so, you can view it here.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2007, 13:01
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

I had a quick view to info.php and it looks ok as far as i can see.

You can disable suEXEC with ISPConfig via > Management > Server > Settings > go to the tab "web" and disable suEXEC. I think if you do so, ISPConfig will rewrite the vhost file again, so you'll not have any error anymore.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th March 2007, 13:11
jameso jameso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hi Hans,

I disabled suexec, reloaded apache, and even tried editing a web site in ispconfig, and there is still an error showing in the ispconfig log file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th March 2007, 13:19
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 210
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Try to change a small option within ISPConfig for one of your websites.
For example enable or disable cgi-scripts, to make sure that ISPConfig re-writes your vhost file, which should be ok then.

If the error still persists within your log, please post it here.
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Apache2 Freezes celtic Server Operation 31 28th May 2007 17:18
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 08:55
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.