Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd November 2005, 08:14
Net-Pet Net-Pet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Net-Pet
Default Installation to point of no return and back

I would like to install ISPconfig but on a system allready running with postfix and
apache, it this possible to do this without I destroy current installation.

It would be really nice if I can try it out and just change the ports from maybe 81 to 80 for the new installed apache, and change the other tcp ports to something that not conflict a active installation.

Any hits ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd November 2005, 10:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

It is not recommended to install ISPConfig on a system that is already in use, because ISPConfig has to modify your apache configuration and websites with e.g. PHP that are in /var/www wont work anymore after the installation. They have to be copied in the new ISPConfig website directories before you can use them again.

Also ISPConfig does not install a new apache for your hosted websites, it will always use the apache that is already installed on your server.

Better try ISPCOnfig on another server or on a vmware or qemu installation on your desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd November 2005, 11:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Net-Pet
It would be really nice if I can try it out and just change the ports from maybe 81 to 80 for the new installed apache, and change the other tcp ports to something that not conflict a active installation.
Don't change the port from 81 to 80. ISPConfig has it's own Apache (used solely for the ISPConfig web interface) that's running on port 81, whereas the normal Apache is running on port 80 (that's the one you administrate by using ISPConfig). If you change ISPConfig Apache's port from 81 to 80, it will interfere with your normal Apache so that one of them won't be able to start...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th November 2005, 22:17
benkong2 benkong2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I'm confused

This howto says ISPConfig does install its own Apache. Is it incorrect?

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_5.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th November 2005, 01:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benkong2
This howto says ISPConfig does install its own Apache. Is it incorrect?

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_5.10
No, that's correct. ISPConfig's Apache is running on port 81, whereas the main Apache is running on port 80 (and maybe also 443 for SSL).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th November 2005, 22:26
SleeperZ SleeperZ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Don't change the port from 81 to 80. ISPConfig has it's own Apache (used solely for the ISPConfig web interface) that's running on port 81, whereas the normal Apache is running on port 80 (that's the one you administrate by using ISPConfig). If you change ISPConfig Apache's port from 81 to 80, it will interfere with your normal Apache so that one of them won't be able to start...
If you have 2 ip addresses you can set them up to run on a seperate ip address without any problems.

I have done this and have ISPConfig on port 443 on 1 ip and apache running on another ip on 80 & 443. So far it seems to be working great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th November 2005, 13:30
Net-Pet Net-Pet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Net-Pet
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SleeperZ
If you have 2 ip addresses you can set them up to run on a seperate ip address without any problems.

I have done this and have ISPConfig on port 443 on 1 ip and apache running on another ip on 80 & 443. So far it seems to be working great.
OK I undertstand ispconfig uses it's own apache.

The current apache2 I have is not installed by rpm infact
http://www.typo3-installer.de/ is used includes compilation of:

- APACHE 2.0.55
- Typo3 3.8.0 + Testsite Package
- MySQL 4.1.14
- PHP 4.4.0
- GD-2.0.33 (incl. GIF Support!)
- libTiff-V3.7.4
- gettext-0.14.5
- zlib 1.2.3
- PDFLib 5.0.4p1
- Freetype 2.1.10

/usr/local/typo3/ is where my current apache is located and the websites are
also located below this but I can move them to /var/www if needed anyway maybe my typo3 installation will complain about the php5.

I can also move the port used by my current apache installation from 80 to 8081 and let my firewall do portforward from public ip to 192.168.10:8081
and let ispconfig handle another apache running on the same server.

I can backup my current configuration files - also but I just like to avoid downtime and make the installation of ispconfig but maybe it's more easy to use http://www.syscp.de but what like about ispconfig is that it also handle mail configuration/compilation etc.

Suggestion are welcome
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th November 2005, 15:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

What's the exact question?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th November 2005, 17:31
Net-Pet Net-Pet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Net-Pet
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What's the exact question?
Ok the question is howto install ISPconfig without breaking the current running installation of apache with php4

Maybe I should give it a try and not asking
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.