#1  
Old 19th February 2007, 22:20
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default openSuse10.2, ISPConfig, no PHP

Hopefully I have posted this in the right place now... previously I was trying to work through a problem here Transferring Hard Drive to new System.

Since my last post there I started from scratch with opensuse10.2 and the Perfect Setup for opensuse10.2. This time I did not perform the steps that indicated I would install ISPConfig at the end of the HowTo which I did not do. I loaded one of my sites and sure enough I was able to access PHP pages with no problems.

This leads me to believe that the issue is not with opensuse as some tried to convince me before. I don't believe the issue is with ISPConfig either, however I do believe there is something in the process of installing ISPConfig that is preventing my PHP pages from being accessed.

I like ISPConfig and would like to figure out why this is happening so I can continue to use it. :-) Since I reinstalled opensuse10.2 I don't have anymore of the files from the previous install. Still some information in the thread I linked above though.

Can we try to figure this out? It could be as simple as ISPConfig not setting my sites up under /srv/www/htdocs (I am thinking about the apache2 error log in the other thread... and that is where I loaded my site after this new install) but if that is the reason why didn't it? how do I fix it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th February 2007, 22:25
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

The installation procedure of ISPConfig modifies the PHP settings for Apache(2). It removes the standard allowed php execution. Otherwise you could not select to switch php on or off for a website. If you want to run PHP, you have to set the PHP tick box for every website you want php to work on. Maybe you created a website yourself in the main apache2.conf? If that's true, you should leave the creation of sites and apache configurations to ISPconfig. Just thinking out loud.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th February 2007, 23:27
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi, thanks for replying!
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinfst
The installation procedure of ISPConfig modifies the PHP settings for Apache(2). It removes the standard allowed php execution. Otherwise you could not select to switch php on or off for a website. If you want to run PHP, you have to set the PHP tick box for every website you want php to work on.
Yes, while I don't know the actual process I was aware it did this. I have been through the setup twice with PHP checked for the applicable sites. There was even remedy in the previous thread I linked that indicates not to check the boxes therefore preventing ISPConfig from altering PHP configurations but that did not work either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinfst
Maybe you created a website yourself in the main apache2.conf? If that's true, you should leave the creation of sites and apache configurations to ISPconfig. Just thinking out loud.
Probably not, I did not mess with the apache configs except where directed by the Perfect Setup for opensuse10.2. I did set up the sites via ISPConfig on the previous tries but again when I access the sites from the internet I could not access any PHP pages or content. On my last install of opensuse10.2 without installing ISPConfig I still didn't mess with the apache config files. I simply copied all the files for a site directly into /srv/www/htdocs and as I said when I tried to access PHP content it worked with no problem.

With ISPConfig installed, sites up, this is the appache2 error I receive when I tried to access PHP content
Code:
[Sun Feb 18 17:52:29 2007] [error] [client ::1] Directory index forbidden by Options directive: /srv/www/htdocs/
which is why I am thinking maybe ISPConfig should be setting the sites up in /srv/www/htdocs/ instead of /srv/www/. I am willing to give it a try but I do not know where/what to change in ISPConfig to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2007, 23:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please copy your websites to the website root directories that ISPConfig creates for your site and not in the default suse directory.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th February 2007, 00:17
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Please copy your websites to the website root directories that ISPConfig creates for your site and not in the default suse directory.
I did, web1, web2, web3 etc... correct? ISPConfig also generated directories with the site domain names and when I placed the files in the root directories they were copied into the domain directories also by ISPConfig I assume.

Each time I tried the setup with ISPConfig an ls of /srv/www/ would look like this
Code:
cgi-bin htdig htdoc perl-lib web1 web2 web3 www.thefractalfarm.net www.latcarfproductions.com www.heartwinds.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th February 2007, 08:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
I did, web1, web2, web3 etc... correct? ISPConfig also generated directories with the site domain names and when I placed the files in the root directories they were copied into the domain directories also by ISPConfig I assume.
ISPConfig is not copying any files in the websites. You will have to upload your files to the web directory of the website. Example:

/srv/www/www.thefractalfarm.net/web/

Quote:
Each time I tried the setup with ISPConfig an ls of /srv/www/ would look like this
Thats perfect, exactly as it should be.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freebsd 6.1 support misterm Installation/Configuration 10 9th April 2009 10:29
Slightly Confused (DNS & Server Help) JohnnyBGoode Installation/Configuration 26 14th August 2007 10:54
VirtualHosts marra87 General 9 12th September 2006 05:09
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 22:01
Downgrade php5 to php4.4.2 llizards Installation/Configuration 4 14th March 2006 00:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.