Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th January 2007, 23:30
shadowspank shadowspank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation country section show only 100% unresolved

I have looked over the forums and did not find anything that would fix my problem what I am seeing with Webalizer is that Usage by country shows unresolved/unknown. I have the server on behind a firewall using nat. All the stats show up right but this.. I have looked at /etc/webalizer.conf and I do have the dns_cache.db file listed and its set at 10. Server has full access to the internet. Nothing is being blocked outgoing. www.domain.com/stats works fine I just get Usage by country unresolved/unknown. Please help thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st January 2007, 17:29
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

Looks like it cannot access the outside DNS servers. What's in /etc/resolv.conf? Do you have bind running locally?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st January 2007, 18:15
shadowspank shadowspank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation

I do have bind running and it works great I use it for one of my dns servers.
Here is the output from /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 10.11.1.5
nameserver 4.2.2.1


I can run nslookup on the local dns server and I get an output of zone file information I have added to the server.

> ls -d domain.com
[domain.com]
domain.com. SOA domain.com. admin.domain.com. (20070
13001 28800 7200 604800 86400)
domain.com. A 10.11.1.5
domain.com. NS domain.com.
www A 10.11.1.5
www MX 10 www.domain.com.
domain.com. SOA domain.com. admin.domain.com.. (20070
13001 28800 7200 604800 86400)

domain.com. was placed for posting in place of my real domain.
>

But as you can see its running and in place I can run updates on the server yum update and so on they all use host names to get the updates. Lan is not blocked any access to the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2007, 18:29
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

The nameserver IP's do look like local IP's and do not point to a valid nameserver. What happens if you do e.g. (from commandline)
Code:
dig google.com
Because your testing here only shows your local Bind server resolves for it's own internal network.
With the dig google.com you should at least see the ANSWER section like:
Code:
;; ANSWER SECTION:
google.com.             300     IN      A       64.233.167.99
google.com.             300     IN      A       64.233.187.99
google.com.             300     IN      A       72.14.207.99
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st January 2007, 18:48
shadowspank shadowspank is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Looks like your right. its only looking at it self how do I fix this..

[root@www ~]# dig google.com
;; reply from unexpected source: 10.11.1.5#53, expected 4.2.2.1#53
;; Warning: ID mismatch: expected ID 9856, got 55525

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> google.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 9856
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;google.com. IN A

;; Query time: 2169 msec
;; SERVER: 10.11.1.5#53(10.11.1.5)
;; WHEN: Wed Jan 31 08:45:26 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 28
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st January 2007, 18:51
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 172 Times in 77 Posts
Default

you have to change your /etc/resolv.conf file. Enter the dns server of your ISP.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st January 2007, 18:33
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 172 Times in 77 Posts
Default

It looks like your server only resolves the zone it is hosting itself.

if you try this command what output do you get?

Code:
dig -x 72.14.207.99
Update:
martinfst was faster
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st February 2007, 19:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowspank
I have looked at /etc/webalizer.conf
ISPConfig doesn't use /etc/webalizer.conf, it uses /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/webalizer.conf. Please check if the settings there suit your needs.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.