Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th January 2007, 23:24
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Transferring Hard Drive to new System

Can I just move the hard drive to another box? If so, how? beside the obvious... unplug, remove, install, plug in!

I have SuSe 10.1 with ISPConfig loaded on a SATA drive. I tried it just to see if it would work and it would not... the only error I could see in the checks was that ispconfig.http could not resolve the FQDN then it would just go to text screen log in.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th January 2007, 20:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

If the new system has the same IP address as the old one and you plug in the HDD on the same controller, then there should be no problem.
If the IP address has changed, take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th January 2007, 21:24
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If the new system has the same IP address as the old one and you plug in the HDD on the same controller, then there should be no problem.
If the IP address has changed, take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
Controller being the same as network/router etc... ? The IP crossed my mind this morning and I was going to try that again today. I did not change the internal IP address before I tried it yesterday. e.g. the HDD was on 192.168.2.5 and the machine I put it in and tried was 192.168.2.2.

Thanks, I'll let you know if I was successful. :-)

Well... that didn't work! I went in and changed the IP of the box I am wanting to use to what is listed for ISPConfig and the sites. Restarted then shut it down. Disconnected the current drive which is WinXP and placed in the Linux drive the restarted again. Still taking me to a text login screen. Just out of curiosity could it be that it is actually working but no in GUI mode!? huh... let me test that... Wish I would think of these things before I restore back to the old box!

No... it just is not booting up to the Linux HDD for some reason. Interesting because the mobo's are the same but there is a huge difference in cpu and memory.

Last edited by latcarf; 28th January 2007 at 22:50.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th January 2007, 12:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by latcarf
Controller being the same as network/router etc... ?
No, I mean the controller where you plug in the HDD on the new system. For example, if your HDD was /dev/hda on the old system, and you use the wrong controller on the new system, it might be recognized as /dev/hdc there instead of /dev/hda.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th January 2007, 14:46
latcarf latcarf is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
No, I mean the controller where you plug in the HDD on the new system. For example, if your HDD was /dev/hda on the old system, and you use the wrong controller on the new system, it might be recognized as /dev/hdc there instead of /dev/hda.
Got it... how would I find that out? The new system has never had a Linux designation such as /hda or /hdc and the mother boards are both the same and I am even using the same Sata connector on the board.

When I do try to boot to the Linux drive in the new system it goes to a text login (system login screen. I can login as root from there, is there a way I can check or change it from there? I will start researching Linux commands also and see what I can dig up... and check the BIOs and see what I can do from there.

Final option is to do a clean install but how difficult is it to transfer all the ISPConfig data, domains, sites, users over to the new drive? Would it be as easy as copying specific folders over?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th January 2007, 11:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by latcarf
I can login as root from there, is there a way I can check or change it from there?
Run
Code:
fdisk -l
or
Code:
df -h
Quote:
Originally Posted by latcarf
Final option is to do a clean install but how difficult is it to transfer all the ISPConfig data, domains, sites, users over to the new drive? Would it be as easy as copying specific folders over?
Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ving+ispconfig
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Additional Hard Drive Installation Problem msimpson7 Installation/Configuration 2 3rd September 2006 19:27
Hard Drive Failed Need Help mphayesuk Technical 1 28th April 2006 23:20
FC4 - How to remove LVM after hard drive crash? pudn Technical 4 10th April 2006 09:32
Adding a second Hard Drive to the system Rocky Installation/Configuration 2 30th November 2005 01:31
Suse 10 new Hard Drive install mphayesuk Installation/Configuration 5 1st November 2005 17:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.