If everything works normal you do not lose any data.
Be careful if you modified any config files. when you reconfigure the services in the update process these modifications will be overwritten by the default ispconfig configs
I just looked at the post you linked and saw you talked about ISPConfig 2. I hope you do not confuse the two versions