Originally Posted by tomg
However, If I then delete the site it is not removed from the DNS Zone file. (Even after I empty the recyle bin)
That's how it's supposed to be - deleting a site doesn't necessarily mean you also want to delete the zone. If you want to delete the zone as well, you must do this in the DNS Manager.