Ok.. It appears that a Gallery Install (just using the defaults for each step) will delete your entire site and turn it into a symbolic link to it's default install location /var/www/clients/client1/web/web1.... It wouldn't let me cd into it cause it was no longer a directory.....
Time to start again I guess..... Thanks to Till and Snowman