HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Newbie here, needs reassuring... (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=982)

CorrosionX 24th October 2005 17:05

Newbie here, needs reassuring...
 
Hi people

I just built my web server using the Perfect Ubuntu 5.10 setup, and I've got some small stuff i want to clarify just to reassure me.

The server will eventually be installed on my office LAN and it will have a static IP and port 80 open. Right now it's at home on a dynamic ip and port 80 closed.

I have done everything in the tutorial and I installed the PhpMyAdmin package also.

I created a couple of test sites on it, and the only one I can access by typing 192.168.1.45 (its local IP) and I get a ISPconfig default index page and nothing else.

The Phpmyadmin asks me for user/password but none of my ISPConfig passwords work.

I plan to bring the server to the office and set up port forwarding 80 to that server. But then what should I do?

I know I'll have to point my domain names to the IP of the nameserver (which I think is gonna be the same server, right?)

Will ISPconfig then know what domain name is requested and show the appropriate site?

Looking forward to being helped, thanks!



P.S.Is there some sort of "Going Live" tutorial for ISPConfig out there?

till 24th October 2005 17:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by CorrosionX
The Phpmyadmin asks me for user/password but none of my ISPConfig passwords work.

You cannot login with the ISPConfig passwords to phpmyadmin. Use your root mysql username and password as admininistrator account and the passwords / usernames you entered when you created a new database in ISPConfig for the client databases.

Quote:

I plan to bring the server to the office and set up port forwarding 80 to that server. But then what should I do?
Forward your domains to that server.

Quote:

I know I'll have to point my domain names to the IP of the nameserver (which I think is gonna be the same server, right?)
Its the same if you want to use the nameserver that comes with your ISPConfig setup.

Quote:

Will ISPconfig then know what domain name is requested and show the appropriate site?
Yes, because the vhosts are name based.

Quote:

P.S.Is there some sort of "Going Live" tutorial for ISPConfig out there?
I dont think so.

CorrosionX 24th October 2005 17:19

Wow quick reply... thanks!

Ok so I guess there's not much more I can do right here so I'll install it at the office and test it from there...

I understand I won't be able to access any of the ISPconfig-made websites locally until the domain names resolve correctly, right?

till 24th October 2005 17:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by CorrosionX
I understand I won't be able to access any of the ISPconfig-made websites locally until the domain names resolve correctly, right?

There is a solution, you can add the IP and domain to the hosts file on your workstation (Yes even windows has this ;) )
The form is:

192.168.0.20 www.my-own-domain.com

CorrosionX 24th October 2005 18:47

closer, warmer....

yup pretty cool trick i forgot all about it.

Now I get the internal server error when I try to access any subdirectory, I guess it's a question of permissions right?

till 24th October 2005 18:52

How have you uploaded the website Data, with FTP? Does the directories have execute permissions?

CorrosionX 24th October 2005 19:46

Yes and yes

CorrosionX 26th October 2005 18:02

Not fixed!
 
Hello people.

I still can't access any subdirectories and all permissions look a-ok (execute and read for the world).

Also what are the ports that should be open for the DNS to work?


Thanks in advance

falko 26th October 2005 19:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by CorrosionX
Hello people.

I still can't access any subdirectories and all permissions look a-ok (execute and read for the world).

Can you post the output of
Code:

ls -la /path/to/one/of/those/subdirectories
?

Quote:

Originally Posted by CorrosionX
Also what are the ports that should be open for the DNS to work?

Port 53 TCP and UDP.

CorrosionX 26th October 2005 19:29

root@www:/var/www/www.arconsultant.com/web# ls -la
total 48
drwxrwxr-x 4 web2_arconsultant web2 4096 2005-10-26 12:17 .
drwxr-xr-x 8 web2_arconsultant web2 4096 2005-10-23 14:47 ..
drwxr-xr-x 15 web2_arconsultant web2 4096 2005-10-23 14:30 catalog
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 16139 2005-10-24 12:47 .catalog
drwxrwxr-x 2 web2_arconsultant web2 4096 2005-10-23 14:15 error
-rw-rw-r-- 1 web2_arconsultant web2 1329 2005-10-26 12:17 index.html
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12288 2005-10-26 12:17 .index.html.swp
root@www:/var/www/www.arconsultant.com/web#

--
Allright DNS is ok I am able to connect to the server (which is now storaged at the office), I forward port 53 UDP&TCP on the Linksys router.

Now when I tried to do the nameserver thing at the registrar they ask 2 nameservers. I'm gonna have them both on the same machine... Can you link me to any place with a tutorial about this?

It's looking good we're all excited here :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.