HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Can your ISPConfig Box Link to another servers websites (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9602)

bfriend 6th January 2007 08:28

Can your ISPConfig Box Link to another servers websites
 
I was wondering if you can use your ISPConfig Server to forward you to another server on your network.


My router port 80 points to my new ISPConfig server (192.168.0.10) and I have another webserver running on (192.168.0.5). Is there a way to set up ISPconfig Server to access the sites being hosted on (192.168.0.5).

If so could you explain?

Thanks

Bill

martinfst 6th January 2007 14:56

You can use the DNS manager for this. Just add the appropriate records (A, MX) and have the IP's point to the other server.

bfriend 6th January 2007 22:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by martinfst
You can use the DNS manager for this. Just add the appropriate records (A, MX) and have the IP's point to the other server.

I am really having problems with this whole DNS stuff. Would you mind posting your DNS setting so I could duplicate it on my end with my info. I need to see a proper DNS Settings so I can confirm that I have it right.

Outside world IP: 111.222.333.444
Router Port Settings: 192.168.0.10 (All required ports)
Main Server with ISPConfig: 192.168.0.10 (hostname: ns1.domain1.net)
Old Server with website that i would like to leave on it: 192.168.0.5 (host name: www.domain2.com)

I really dont like haveing to bother people with my problems, I just cant get this working right.

Thanks

Bill

till 7th January 2007 12:38

If your router has only one external IP, you can not route traffic for port 80 to two different servers depending on the domain with DNS. You might have to use the apache on your new server to act as proxy to fo the domains that shall stay on your old server.

martinfst 7th January 2007 16:25

Till is right. You will have to setup a proxy, most likely/easy on your new server, as I assume you use some kind of ADSL router, on which you cannot configure name based hosts. Route all port 80 traffic to your new server and based on your vhost name handle request for your new site on your new server immediately and use a forward proxy to route all traffic of your old site to your other server.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.