HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Can't Create a User Account for a new Website (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=957)

city 21st October 2005 20:16

Can't Create a User Account for a new Website
 
Greetings,

I've got ISPConfig running using Ubuntu 5.10 and after creating my Reseller / Client and now Site - I can't create a Site user due to the following message.

Field: Username
The user name has to contain a minimum of 4 and a maximum of 32 letters or figures and has to begin with a letter.

I do exactly as told and use a sufficient sized username yet it doesn't work.....
Any Ideas on why this is happening? I did disable the DNS service.

I also was wondering if I can modify my sshd_conf file to force ssh to use protocol 2 and disable remote root login. Would this cause problems for ISPConfig.

Confused

City

till 21st October 2005 21:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by city
Greetings,

I've got ISPConfig running using Ubuntu 5.10 and after creating my Reseller / Client and now Site - I can't create a Site user due to the following message.

Field: Username
The user name has to contain a minimum of 4 and a maximum of 32 letters or figures and has to begin with a letter.

I do exactly as told and use a sufficient sized username yet it doesn't work.....
Any Ideas on why this is happening? I did disable the DNS service.

What is the username you tried? Have you changed the username prefix.

Quote:

I also was wondering if I can modify my sshd_conf file to force ssh to use protocol 2 and disable remote root login. Would this cause problems for ISPConfig.
This causes no problems with ISPConfig.

city 21st October 2005 22:21

I did change the username prefix where I made it CBE[WEBID]_
and using "zhang" as the username. Still no go : (

till 21st October 2005 22:33

You are shure you have no whitespaces in the userprefix field or username field?

city 21st October 2005 22:40

Yes, No Whitespaces. At this point if I wanted to reinstall ISPConfig to try to see if that fixes it - what is the best method of uninstalling and reinstalling cleanly?

Your help is most appreciated :D

city

till 21st October 2005 22:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by city
what is the best method of uninstalling and reinstalling cleanly?

execute:

/root/ispconfig/uninstall

falko 22nd October 2005 15:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by city
I also was wondering if I can modify my sshd_conf file to force ssh to use protocol 2 and disable remote root login. Would this cause problems for ISPConfig.

No, this doesn't cause problems for ISPConfig.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.