HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Multiple IPs on a single ISPConfig install? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9068)

Craig 13th December 2006 18:55

Multiple IPs on a single ISPConfig install?
 
Sorry if this has been posted but I did a search and came up with only the opposite, multiple domains on a single IP.

What I want to be able to end up doing is to provide my own DNS service without the need for two different servers running two different ISPConfigs, or even just two different servers period.

From the host of my dedicated server, I can get multiple IPs so I thought that if I could use two different IPs within ISPConfig, I could easily provide my own DNS resolution/propagation without the need for two separate servers.

Is it possible to do it within one ISPConfig install or should I just use one IP within ISPConfig and the second IP outside of ISPConfig but still on the same box?

If both within a single ISPConfig, how would I go about doing that or, is it painfully obvious and I missed it and should go do more reading?

By the way, if no one has mentioned it before, ISPConfig r000cks! :)

till 13th December 2006 19:00

You can do the DNS with one ISPConfig installation, but it might be that your domain registry recognizes that there is only one server used and refuses to set the DNS to your server.

To add more IP addresses, enter them line by line in the additional IP addresses field under management > server > settings.

Craig 13th December 2006 20:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
but it might be that your domain registry recognizes that there is only one server used and refuses to set the DNS to your server.

Yes, that is exactly what is happening. :(
Quote:

Originally Posted by till
To add more IP addresses, enter them line by line in the additional IP addresses field under management > server > settings.

D'Oh! (Slapping forehead and feeling stupid!) I should have thought of that but didn't think it was that easy! :D

Thanks VERY much!!! :)

till 13th December 2006 21:36

I heard that there are some free secondary dns services. But I never used one. maybe thats a solution for your DNS problem. Or you find someone with the same problem and you provide the socondary for the domains vice versa.

Craig 14th December 2006 18:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Or you find someone with the same problem and you provide the secondary for the domains vice versa.

I don't play well with others so that's out. :D

Seriously though, since adding a second IP, in my situation, is about the cost of a Coca-cola, I'd be more inclined to get everything working with two IPs and two NS's and then offer others, on a limited basis, free NS.

Thanks for the suggestion though as it will likely be useful to others reading this! :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:33.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.