HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Rename folder -> create new folder equals contents of old folder (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8762)

BlueStream 3rd December 2006 12:41

Rename folder -> create new folder equals contents of old folder
 
Ok. I followed the perfect setup for Fedora Core 5.

When accessing the site via IP, renaming a folder to something else, and then recreating a new folder with the same name, will result in the new folder holding the contents of the old directory. Whether it is a symlink or a true copy I am not sure and have no time to explore.

I was originally gonna post a "aw crap! why me!" thread but as indicated above, logging in via the actual domain does not cause the same problems.

till 4th December 2006 10:02

Did you rename the folder with FTP or with the mv command on the shell?

BlueStream 4th December 2006 13:58

using FTP. this FTP has had no problems before.

FlashFXP

falko 5th December 2006 17:31

And does the domain name point to the correct IP address? You can check with
Code:

dig domain.com

BlueStream 5th December 2006 17:37

I think you misunderstand.

FTPing to the IP will create the problem mentioned. FTPing to the domain which points to the IP will not.

In any case, the domain points to the IP.

falko 6th December 2006 17:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueStream
When accessing the site via IP, renaming a folder to something else, and then recreating a new folder with the same name, will result in the new folder holding the contents of the old directory. Whether it is a symlink or a true copy I am not sure and have no time to explore.

What's the output of
Code:

ls -la /path/to/parentfolder
and what's the name of the directory you're trying to rename?

BlueStream 7th December 2006 03:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
What's the output of
Code:

ls -la /path/to/parentfolder
and what's the name of the directory you're trying to rename?

Hi. How do I do this? Thru the ftp? I'm using a GUI ftp.

Or should I access the server directly.

Sorry, completely lost here.

till 7th December 2006 09:46

Please connect with SSH. A free windows SSH client is putty.

BlueStream 7th December 2006 10:30

After connecting succesfully, I immediately get a connection closed by host message. Both on accessing via IP and via the domain.

falko 8th December 2006 14:28

Did you connect as root? Maybe the user you tried doesn't have shell access.

Anyway, instead of SSH, you can use the system's terminal if you have physical access to the system.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.